Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2017, 07:31 PM
rgpinder rgpinder is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: 2283 W Holly Mountain Dr
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools First Compatibility with Melodyne Essentials 4

Long time Sonar user and trying out Pro Tools First to determine if I want to switch. I found I can't transfer data between Pro Tools First and Melodyne Essentials 4 (64 bit). In theory I should be able to create a new insert on a vocal track, choose Melodyne, and then play a snippet and transfer audio to Melodyne for auto-tune etc. But this doesn't appear to work the way it should or does in Sonar. Is this something that works with the studio version of Pro Tools 12 but doesn't work with the free version for some reason? I thought even the free version would allow for plugins you've purchased, even though it doesn't come with many built in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2017, 08:43 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,703
Default Re: Pro Tools First Compatibility with Melodyne Essentials 4

Welcome to the Forum!

Unfortunately, PT First only runs plugins purchased through the Avid Store:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...s-First-FAQ#16

Q) Can I use any AAX plug-ins with Pro Tools | First?

A) Over 20 plug-ins are included with Pro Tools | First including the Xpand!2 Virtual Instrument. Pro Tools | First supports AAX Native 64 and AAX AudioSuite 64 plug-ins purchased from within the in-app Store. Check the description/specs in the Avid Marketplace to confirm if an iLok is required. Plug-in bundles which include ‘First’ in the name are specifically designed for use with Pro Tools | First and do not require an iLok. These plug-ins should download and automatically install, without needing to re-launch Pro Tools. Plug-ins purchased through the Avid Marketplace with your Avid Master Account will work with Pro Tools | First. Some plug-ins installed manually (outside of Marketplace) will work with Pro Tools | First, but most plug-ins will remain hidden and unavailable at launch. If you purchase plug-ins for Pro Tools | First then upgrade to Pro Tools, those plug-ins will be available as the AAX Native 64 format is exactly the same for Pro Tools | First and Pro Tools.

Q) AAX 64-bit plug-ins require an iLok, but Pro Tools | First doesn’t, so can I use these plug-ins?
A) Many 64-bit AAX plug-ins from Avid and third-party manufacturers do not require an iLok to use and are ideal for use with Pro Tools | First but must be purchased from within Pro Tools | First using the in-app purchase feature. You may also choose to purchase and use any AAX Native 64-bit plug-ins from the in-app Avid Marketplace that require an iLok, but you will need to purchase an iLok USB Smart Key separately to allow activation of these plug-ins.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.10 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Melodyne Essentials btwnthbttns Buy & Sell 0 12-28-2014 04:19 PM
Melodyne essentials v2 $55 YYR123 Buy & Sell 3 11-04-2013 05:53 AM
Essentials win - HD mac compatibility question ledzappa Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 10-20-2010 05:29 AM
Essentials 8.0.2 Win7 compatibility Chrono Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 1 12-31-2009 12:21 PM
Melodyne and Protools 6 compatibility. kizzer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-26-2008 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com