Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-19-2012, 01:36 PM

Default Why do I always get thin waveforms?

Hello,

Yes, I'm a rookie. So here is the issue: Even though I add the digirack compressor/limiter(the one comes with pt le 8) to the master fader and even though I can see that master fader reaches up to the orange area (without clipping) and even though I get a nice volume level when I bounce to disk, my records feel like they are not recorded with the eleven rack. (considering other records I've listened to which were recorded by an eleven rack) I mean, they lack sound quality.

I imported some commercial records to pro tools to compare, I saw that commercial records have really thick waveforms compared to my records. (comparing accoustic commercial records and my records are also accoustic)

here are my waveforms: http://i.imgur.com/D3eV5.png (oops, I realized now that I should've bounced this and then imported as a single track. I've also tried that way before, nothing really changes as far as I remember)

I think this might be the problem, not sure though since I'm a beginner.

By the way, my system:

Eleven Rack 2.0.1
Pro tools LE 8.0.5
iMac i7 with osx 10.6.8

Thanks in advance
Old 03-20-2012, 01:51 AM

Default Re: Why do I always get thin waveforms?

The arrows show where to click to change waveform height;

http://www.box.com/s/4527a7afeeacbf0fcddc

The reason why a commercially produced track will look different is because they sound different. Lots of money is spent by pro studios in the quest to achieve that difference.

Also, it's likely your comparing a summed mix, appearing on one stereo track, as opposed to your guitar stereo/mono track on their own.