Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2018, 08:36 AM
Rattleshock Rattleshock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Default C24 fader not providing full range

Greetings,

I have searched the forum, but have not found my specific problem in any of the threads. One fader is not moving past 0db when reading from Protools. It will physically move, but won’t register any change to Protools or from Protools in the upper 6db range. Up to Zero on the fader it is fine. Additionally, the level shown on the C24 is approx 6db lower than what Protools shows, regardless of fader position. Any ideas on how to fix this? Should I just order a new fader?

Thanks in advance,
Glenn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2018, 09:17 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,479
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

have you run all the fader tests in the Utilities menu on the C24? That should tell you what's going on - probably you'll need to replace the fader. Prepare for the removal of many many many screws on the back panel!
__________________
rich@richbreen.com
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2018, 08:05 PM
Rattleshock Rattleshock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

Yes, I have completed all system tests in the utility menu. It’s only the one fader. It is apparent that the upper portion of the fader travel is ‘dead’ or unresponsive. It is odd though, because up to the zero mark it is fully functioning. Only the upper 6db of travel is a dead zone.

Does anyone have recommendations on where I can purchase a fader replacement that will be compatible? I am in Canada, so if there were a domestic supplier, that would obviously be my preference.

Thanks for the reply!
Glenn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2018, 07:55 AM
sound_bites sound_bites is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

Hi,
you’ll need this:

https://www.fullcompass.com/prod/225...r-sc48-003-c24.

You can probably find one on ebay as well. Anyway, it’s the SC 48 motorized fader.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2018, 09:53 AM
Rattleshock Rattleshock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2018, 07:33 AM
Rattleshock Rattleshock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

Just a quick update. I have successfully ordered a replacement fader for the C24 and am waiting for it's delivery.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2018, 07:47 AM
sound_bites sound_bites is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default Re: C24 fader not providing full range

Great! Hope it solves the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to record a FULL RANGE guitar sound? jclark5093 Tips & Tricks 27 12-24-2017 09:44 AM
11R Tube Power Amp/Speaker Cab vs. Full Range Powered Monitor Barry Johns Eleven Rack 22 12-09-2011 04:01 PM
Five Inch Full Range Monitors GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-13-2007 05:42 PM
Moving large speakers(full range) NoRush General Discussion 2 02-04-2006 06:30 PM
OT: Frequency response on full range monitors. pindebraende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-28-2003 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com