Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2019, 10:58 PM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Default RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

Hi, I’m trying to figure out how to get my AES lines into my new HDX rig. Details follow. I will try to detail the configuration and a little background too. In advance, any help or insight is appreciated.

I’ve been running PT Vanilla for years with a Radar 24/Studio connected to a pair of Lynx Aurora AES16e PCIe cards. It is a workable solution but it’s a hack, latency with Native systems is always a challenge and I’m just sick of it. I plan on taking the Radar Studio I’ve been on out of the picture and use it for remote gigs exclusively.

I’ve invested in an HDX card for my cheesgrater MacPro and a pair of RADAR ADA II units giving me 48 Analog I/O (AD & DA). With one Radar HDX MADI card (basically an SSL DeltaLink brain) in just one of the ADA IIs, I should be able to setup all 48 channels of I/O utilizing both DigiLink ports and some MADI cables.

Topology for single HDX card in MacPro (sorry, this is verbose and very descriptive):

DigiLink Port 1 - HDX Ch 1-32: MacPro->HDX Card-> DigiLink Cable 1 - ADA II HDX card in ADA II #1 (port a) -> MADI to ADA II #1 (gives me access to RADAR ADA #1’s 24 channels on HDX 1-24 leaving HDX 25-32 open and unused)

DigiLink Port 2 - HDX Ch 33-64: MacPro-> HDX Card -> DigiLink Cable 2 -> ADA II HDX card in ADA II #1 (port b) -> MADI to ADA II #2 (gives me access to RADAR ADA #2’s 24 channels on HDX 33-57 leaving HDX 58-64 open and unused)

All fine and good, but I still need to integrate my 16 channels of AES digital into that setup. I have HDX 25-32 open on Port 1 and HDX 58-64 open on Port 2. Is there a way I can split MADI somehow and utilize an AES interface to plug in my AES to those unused channels.....

Or must I bite the bullet and get another HDX card and an Avid I/O with two AES 8ch cards in the back?

Thanks for reading and any thoughts or suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2019, 01:50 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,853
Default Re: RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

You do have a PT HD or Ultimate License to run the HEX card right? Vanilla won’t work with the HDX card, you need a HD license.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2019, 06:00 AM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Default Re: RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
You do have a PT HD or Ultimate License to run the HEX card right? Vanilla won’t work with the HDX card, you need a HD license.
Yes, I do have an Ultimate license.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2019, 08:38 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,853
Default Re: RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spindrift300 View Post
Yes, I do have an Ultimate license.
Great. Just wanted to make sure
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2019, 09:52 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

There are ways to do what you want but I can’t think of any that will be as cheap as another HDX plus interface.

Euphonix and SSL used to make MADI routers. With MADI you can do “substitutions” for every 8 channels which allows you to inject other audio into the MADI stream. In your case, you need to replace the 4th and 8th group of 8. If you aren’t used to Euphonix System 5 hardware, that would be a hard one to maintain. The SSL MADI X8 is a lot easier to understand (But you still need to convert your AES to MADI first with a stand-alone converter)

RME still makes MADI routers and AES/MADI converters where you can do things like this.

But at some point you will cross $4500 with these solutions and then it’s just cheaper to go with HDX + interface.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-2019, 11:11 AM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
Default Re: RADAR ADA II & HDX Integration Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
There are ways to do what you want but I can’t think of any that will be as cheap as another HDX plus interface.

Euphonix and SSL used to make MADI routers. With MADI you can do “substitutions” for every 8 channels which allows you to inject other audio into the MADI stream. In your case, you need to replace the 4th and 8th group of 8. If you aren’t used to Euphonix System 5 hardware, that would be a hard one to maintain. The SSL MADI X8 is a lot easier to understand (But you still need to convert your AES to MADI first with a stand-alone converter)

RME still makes MADI routers and AES/MADI converters where you can do things like this.

But at some point you will cross $4500 with these solutions and then it’s just cheaper to go with HDX + interface.
BScout, this is kinda what I figured but I didn’t want to miss something obvious that was free-ish. I sincerely appreciate you helping me out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution upscaps Pro Tools 11 82 11-03-2015 09:38 PM
radar to pt? ricupad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 11-28-2004 07:29 AM
Radar To PT. Help Please! git1song 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-16-2002 06:06 AM
Transfering from PT to RADAR..help craig zarkos Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-15-2002 10:13 AM
RADAR 24 Armando 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-22-2000 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com