Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2018, 01:23 PM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default Sync HD and Dante?.....

Just looking for advice. If I ditch my Avid interfaces a go down the Dante route into a Monitor controller do I loose the use of the Sync HD?.....I clock to video ref and use word clock out of the Sync HD for the Monitor Controller. Any advice would be appreciated?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-08-2018, 01:03 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 506
Default Re: Sync HD and Dante?.....

If you're talking about using Dante Virtual Soundcard, then that becomes the Playback Engine and precludes the use of HDX, HD Native, & Sync HD, and also adheres to the Core Audio I/O limits, I believe. If you are talking about a Digilink capable interface that has Dante incorporated (MTRX, some Focusrite units, etc.), you should still be able to use the Sync HD. I think as long as the Monitor Controller is not master, and is getting clock either from the Dante signal or via word clock, you should be good.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2018, 01:04 PM
Klosse Klosse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 14
Default Re: Sync HD and Dante?.....

I´m still using my Sync HD as master for the Dante network. The Sync HD is using video reference as clock source and feeds wordclock to a Rendet 3 that is then master on the Dante network.

-Klosse
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2018, 01:59 PM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default Re: Sync HD and Dante?.....

Hi
I guess you have ditched your cards? how are you finding the latency? Much improved from cards or only a little better?

Presumably without a serial connection with sync hd Pro tools doesn't know its there?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2018, 02:24 PM
octatonic octatonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 224
Default Re: Sync HD and Dante?.....

A Dante network can clock off external wordclock.

The only real limitation is that Dante Virtual Soundcard cannot be clock master but if you are not using it then it isn't an issue.
Do you need the Sync HD though?

I have a Red 16 Line and an A16R, I'm using either Thunderbolt or HDX.
It is rock solid without external wordclock.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2018, 11:24 AM
lancemcv lancemcv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Rockland County, NY
Posts: 483
Default Re: Sync HD and Dante?.....

I think you have to have a digilink interface like the RedNet HD32R or the older and the cheaper Rednet 5 and HD native card or Native thunderbolt to be able to sync to video ref with the Sync HD. I don't think there is a way around it. Basically you would be replacing your avid interface with a digilink rednet interface. Just using word clock you would most likely will have drift even if it's coming from the sync hd. I usually have my sync HD locked to incoming black burst or tri level sync, sync HD is the master clock.
__________________
OS X 10.12.1 PT 12.6.1 HD
HD Native pcie / Omni
Mac Pro 2009 upgraded to 5,1 12 core 3.33ghz, flashed Geforce 980ti, Samsung Samsung SM951 M.2 PCIe SSD (AHCI model) pcie boot drive OWC PCIE Mercury Assessor system clone drive, usb 3 card
Pro Tools Native and Omni PT12
Midas M32r console.
Director and Engineer for Front and Center on PBS /MTV
Director and Engineer for Speakeasy on PBS
Engineer for MTV Live new artist series
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Sync Dante and Video laki Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 12-05-2017 02:26 AM
Mix Rack to Dante? Matthew Steel VENUE Live Sound Systems 7 05-05-2016 05:54 AM
HD Native and Dante JCBigler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 11 12-10-2013 01:01 AM
Dante issues with PT 10 AnthonyDW macOS 3 10-08-2012 03:48 PM
Audinate Dante and PT9 njrsound macOS 1 04-25-2011 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com