Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-13-2015, 10:22 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

Avid is pleased to announce the release of S6 Software version 2.1 for the S6Master Module and associated workstations. This software release delivers many new features for S6 users.

S6 Software v2.1 includes the following new and changed features:

• Support for the new Joystick Module (due end of Nov)
• New and Changed Preference Settings - Save to Disk/Network/Title or Session
• IHSE Ethernet KVM support and Redesigned KVM Settings
• Bank and Nudge Switch LEDs
• Monitoring Additions and Improvements
• VCA Spill Improvements
• Spill Tracks by Type onto whole surface
• Selecting Insert Slots for Expand Zone and Home Screen Function Views
• Mic Pre Input Parameter Layout Improvements
• Improved Knob Response for EQ and Other Parameters - Fine control
• Inserts Shown in Distinct Colors on Master Module
• Soft Keys Additions and Enhancements including Save, Load and Import
• Link and Inverse Pan Control
• Switch between Layouts and Banking using the Layout recall softkey
• Dual Network adapter support on the Master module

How Can I Get 2.1?

In order to receive the 2.1 software update in your Avid account you will need your S6 console to be on a current Avid Support Plan. Your console came with 1 year of Avid Advantage ExpertPlus support with Hardware Coverage so please check your support plan expiration date. There are several options for renewing coverage (even if your plan has recently expired). If you are a registered owner, you will receive an email with details or you can contact Avid directly to hear about your options at : 1-650-218-4058
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2015, 02:29 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

When installing the Master Module software there is a new Intel Network driver installed. This greatly improves reliability and performance.

You do not need to change any settings in the installer just click Next a few times. If it seams that the install has frozen (after a few mins) check the taskbar at the bottom for a highlighted App and touch it. This will focus the correct installer to continue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2015, 03:47 AM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

Hi Eddie,

I'm not seeing 2.1 in my account, is it supposed to be in there yet?

I also can't see my support plan for the S6 listed in my Avid Account, only my Protools HD support plan. Is there meant to be a separate support plan listed in my avid account for the S6? I have contacted support and they said that their database says my plan is still current until December.

Thanks, looking forward to trying this out!
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2015, 10:03 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

I thought I didn't have it either but found it in Products Not Yet Downloaded
__________________
system specs in profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-18-2015, 04:46 PM
Avid Pro Mixing Support's Avatar
Avid Pro Mixing Support Avid Pro Mixing Support is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 82
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

@stereomissile

Hey Steve,

I will reach out to you directly to discuss the details of your support contract, but for the benefit of the rest of the audience here, the S6 comes with one year of Avid Advantage ExpertPlus with Hardware coverage, which includes software updates, so it your S6 was purchased within the last year (from November 13th, 2015) you should be entitled to S6 v2.1 and you should see it in your Avid Account under the Products Not Yet Downloaded area.

Thanks,
Rich


Pro Tools | S6 Support Info
Avid Advantage Plans
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2015, 08:35 PM
Stereo Missile Stereo Missile is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 490
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

Thanks Rich,

Emailed you back just now.

Cheers,

Steve
__________________
Steve Peach
Stereo Missile Recordings

Creative Director - Red Note Visionary Sounds: http://rednote.com.au
Label: http://www.stereomissile.com/
Music Production / Mixing: http://www.stereomissile.com/musicproducer/
Mastering: http://www.stereomissile.com/mastering/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2015, 07:32 AM
vicviper vicviper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

The ReadMe does not list Pro Tools 11 as a compatible DAW....

Does this mean we are stuck on S6 v2.0.1 unless we upgrade to Pro Tools 12?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2015, 07:43 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: S6 Software v2.1 Now Available

Officially only PT 12.3 on is supported but we have tested PT11.3.2 a bit and I know of some big studios using it without any issues. You will however not get any of the new features like Stereo linking etc. but that may be OK for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: PT HD2 PCI-e no software NobodyImportant Buy & Sell 0 03-11-2013 11:46 AM
Other DAW software and M Box Media Man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 02-09-2007 07:54 AM
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-28-2006 10:12 AM
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-24-2006 08:46 PM
Implement software update option into ProTools software Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2003 12:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com