Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:51 AM
brinnbacka brinnbacka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 46
Default Venue 3.0 installation problem

So I downloaded the Venue 3.0 update files from Avid, extracted the .iso and burned it into a cd with a mac as described in the instructions. As a result booting with F10 pressed does nothing to initiate the upgrade.

A friend told me that I should download and burn the file with a pc, as "something" happens in OS X when zipped files are automatically extracted that makes it impossible for my Profile to read the disc.

So I do just that, but no go... tried with 3 different keyboards, all sorts of F10 pushing manouvers, but no luck.

Any ideas, anyone? The disc is a cd-rw, if that matters? I kinda wish the update could be done via usb just like all the other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2012, 10:25 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Hi,

This process normally works well, so what you're seeing is unexpected. Sorry it's taken more time than expected to get up and running.

Contact the support team: venuesupport(at)avid(dot)com
...and they can troubleshoot further or make arrangements to get you another ISO file.

Quote:
I kinda wish the update could be done via usb just like all the other stuff.
Yes, that would be handy but there's a reason why it doesn't work that way. Every major software update also includes a copy of the console's operating system, which requires the system restore be done via the CD as a boot device, not USB. Interim "dot" releases only update the VENUE software (not the OS), so they can be distributed and installed via USB.

Hope that explains it!

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2012, 11:24 AM
Greg C Greg C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 131
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinnbacka View Post
The disc is a cd-rw, if that matters?
I suspect this is the problem. CD drives can be finicky about what media they'll digest. Use a regular CD-R and not an RW. FWIW, I've always used a Mac to make the disk and have never had a problem.
__________________
Cameron Pro Audio

Exclusively at the Miners Foundry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2012, 10:44 PM
Voice Of Truth Voice Of Truth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 33
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Could you try CD-R? I had some problems reading CD-RW by Venue.

To clarify: you're burning .ISO as a disk image, not just as files, aren't you?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2012, 08:53 AM
brinnbacka brinnbacka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 46
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Hi All,

thanks for the replys. got it with the usb not being a possibility for the big upgrades.

I have a known to be working cd coming in the mail and I will make a copy of that for myself. Everything should be otherwise exactly as specified, apart from the cd being a cd-rw.

I will post what happens next after this weeks shows are done and I have time to try the upgrade again.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2012, 10:53 AM
brinnbacka brinnbacka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 46
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Got the cd and everything installed as advertised. I took an image of it with a mac that I will someday burn to a cd and see how it reacts. Thanks everybody for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2012, 03:05 PM
boleary2 boleary2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 8
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

I am having the same issue. Burnt the ISO disc 3 times and still cannot get SC48 to boot from the disc using F10. I am at a client trying to upgrade his console and this is not working in my favor...any workaround? Is it the CD-R's that I am using? (Memorex CD-R)? Frustrating....He purchased the Venue 3 upgrade...does he need to request a disc to be mailed to him?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2012, 08:54 PM
Tim McCullcoh Tim McCullcoh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 75
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by brinnbacka View Post
So I downloaded the Venue 3.0 update files from Avid, extracted the .iso and burned it into a cd with a mac as described in the instructions. As a result booting with F10 pressed does nothing to initiate the upgrade.

A friend told me that I should download and burn the file with a pc, as "something" happens in OS X when zipped files are automatically extracted that makes it impossible for my Profile to read the disc.

So I do just that, but no go... tried with 3 different keyboards, all sorts of F10 pushing manouvers, but no luck.

Any ideas, anyone? The disc is a cd-rw, if that matters? I kinda wish the update could be done via usb just like all the other stuff.
Was the iso file simply burned to the CD? An iso is a disc image file that needs to be written, not simply burned. The result should be a standard Yellow Book CD-ROM. If you look at the directory of the CD, there should NOT be a file with the iso extension.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2012, 12:40 PM
brinnbacka brinnbacka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 46
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

Yeah, wrote it to the cd-rw like one's supposed to, not just as a .iso-file.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2012, 08:08 PM
Avid Pro Mixing Support's Avatar
Avid Pro Mixing Support Avid Pro Mixing Support is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 82
Default Re: Venue 3.0 installation problem

To verify that the CD has been burned properly just look at the contents on a Mac or PC machine. The CD should have the following files:

D-Show
DSHOW.pqi
Licenses
OSTargetCheck
TDM Plug-Ins

If these files are visible then the problem is probably related to the USB keyboard being used. Try a different keyboard (preferably wired USB, not wireless).

As a further keyboard/CD test you could also try booting the system from a Live CD of some sort.

-Rich
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Venue FWx Problem mightyeskimo VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 12-23-2013 11:05 AM
Odd plug-in problem VENUE mbm1987 VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-02-2013 10:11 AM
Venue 3.0 - Logic Pro 8 problem Jason Raboin VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 05-10-2012 01:04 PM
Installation Problem - "A Pro tools installation has been detected on you computer" Nikkimac7049 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 02-10-2012 07:02 PM
Problem wiht VENUE SyncMaster VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 02-20-2009 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com