Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2012, 03:15 PM
NicoDS NicoDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Malmö
Posts: 5
Talking HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Hey all!

So I´ve browsed around the forum and found a couple of posts from people experiencing the (-1167) firmware update problem as I have. I still havent found anyone experiencing this issue on a PT10 system though.

Basically, I have installed PT 10.0.1 and inserted my Native card as described, but upon launch of PT I get a message that the firmware needs to be updated. Halfway through the update PT freezes and I get the same error message as other people have on the forum:

"An unexpexted error occurred while transmitting a firmware image. Error found while verifying the write was done correctly. (-1167)"

Having read on the forum I found that some people recommended putting the Native card in another slot so I tried this with no luck. Same problem still occurs.

I also tried to reset the Native card to its default settings described here:

http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=409375

The reset to default settings didnt work, as the Native card didnt do as supposed to according to step 7 in the reset guide. The LED on the backside of the card didnt blink with a solid light as described there.

I also tried to use the downloadable firmware update that uses the Terminal. This update also produces the same error (-1167).

So, what now?
Its seems the only thing I havent tried is putting my Native card in another computer and try to update the card that way. Only problem is that I dont have another computer(!)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:25 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,808
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Not much info to go on here. I'm going to guess you are using an older intel Mac from maybe 2006 thru 2008? As I understand it, the firmware update requires a newer machine like a Nehalem or later. Wonder if your local dealer can help
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:45 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

What is your operating system? You probably need to boot into 10.6.7 to fix this. Updating HD Native firmware can be a nightmare. I had the same thing happen. At this point you probably can't update with any OS past 10.6.7 it will continually fail.

Be aware that when I went to 10.6.7 and ran the stand alone updated for my card, it took EIGHT hours to finally update.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2012, 02:38 AM
NicoDS NicoDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Malmö
Posts: 5
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Hey guys!

Hmmm, wonder why my stats doesnt show like yours.

Anyway, my system is a brand new one (bought it a couple of weeks ago):

Intel i7, 3,4 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM (build, not a Mac pro)
Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.8
HD Omni
Pro Tools HD Native
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2012, 02:56 AM
NicoDS NicoDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Malmö
Posts: 5
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
What is your operating system? You probably need to boot into 10.6.7 to fix this. Updating HD Native firmware can be a nightmare. I had the same thing happen. At this point you probably can't update with any OS past 10.6.7 it will continually fail.

Be aware that when I went to 10.6.7 and ran the stand alone updated for my card, it took EIGHT hours to finally update.
Ok, thats sounds like a plan then, since im running 10.6.8.

Yeah, I read all over the forum that some took several hours to update it. I think its a bit weird that a hardware card is shipped without compatible firmware to run with the latest version, but anyways, that seems to be the name of the game
__________________
Singer/songwriter/producer

Intel i7, 3,4 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM
Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.8
HD Omni
Pro Tools HD Native
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2012, 03:06 AM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

For some people, the update takes the 4 minutes or so Digi says it should. It seems that it's a bit random. Maybe because mine failed, it took that long.

I agree, I don't think Digi has updated any HD Native cards, they must have a huge lot of them still, and they all appear to be shipping with original firmware. Which is pretty crazy, to assume that people will have access to 10.6.8 at this point. I had to build a disk with it, for the sole purpose of updating the firmware. Twice, I had to do it once when I got the card, and then again with the latest firmware that was just released.

That firmware SHOULD have worked. But didn't, until I went back to 10.6.7

Apparently something big changed in 10.6.8 and this doesn't just affect the HD Native card. My SAS card for my tape backup drive has the same behavior, I can't update firmware on that card with anything past 10.6.7 as well, so it doesn't sound like it's quite Digi's fault.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:05 AM
NicoDS NicoDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Malmö
Posts: 5
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Yeah, that seems to be the case. One might wonder if the speed in how the OS:s are updated these days is actually good(?!).

Anyway, Im gonna find the 10.6.7 update and see if that works. Thanks for now, and Ill keep ya posted
__________________
Singer/songwriter/producer

Intel i7, 3,4 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM
Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.8
HD Omni
Pro Tools HD Native
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,546
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

Quote:
Originally Posted by NicoDS View Post
Hey guys!

Hmmm, wonder why my stats doesnt show like yours.

Anyway, my system is a brand new one (bought it a couple of weeks ago):

Intel i7, 3,4 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM (build, not a Mac pro)
Mac OSX Snow Leopard 10.6.8
HD Omni
Pro Tools HD Native
Pro Tools 10.0.1
There's part of your problem as you seem to be running a Hackintosh which Avid doesn't officially support although some people use them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2012, 06:39 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

This is happening to me, too. Westmere 3.33 6-core, 10.6.8. PT 10.0.1. AARGH!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2012, 07:02 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts

wasn't there a posting that slot 3 or 4 worked better for updating firmware or am I hallucinating from the fumes
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native card Firmware upgrade. Is it backward compatible? brickroadstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 11-24-2013 11:44 AM
How do I update Omni firmware if Digitest wont open? basicbass Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 1 04-02-2013 01:28 AM
Using PT10 native without the native card Old School Audio Guy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 6 02-14-2013 11:11 AM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
Native Card Firmware Version ? SpongeBob Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 02-03-2012 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com