Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:55 PM
EmperorMusic EmperorMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 7
Default Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Hey, so I realize Pro Tools 10 is fairly new more of a transition between 9 and 11 than anything, but are there any MIDI controllers out there built for PT10? I am looking to upgrade from my Axiom 61 (1st generation) because none of its transport controls on the keyboard do anything in pro tools, and are not easily programmable.

What kind of MIDI/USB controllers are out there that are compatible with PT10? I love the idea of an MPC or just a Pro Tools powered mixer, but is there anything similar that has a keyboard built in, with faders and pan pots? If it were to double as an analog controller (with built in synth sounds), that would be ideal. But anything under $1k would be awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2012, 09:56 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorMusic View Post
Hey, so I realize Pro Tools 10 is fairly new more of a transition between 9 and 11 than anything, but are there any MIDI controllers out there built for PT10? I am looking to upgrade from my Axiom 61 (1st generation) because none of its transport controls on the keyboard do anything in pro tools, and are not easily programmable.

What kind of MIDI/USB controllers are out there that are compatible with PT10? I love the idea of an MPC or just a Pro Tools powered mixer, but is there anything similar that has a keyboard built in, with faders and pan pots? If it were to double as an analog controller (with built in synth sounds), that would be ideal. But anything under $1k would be awesome!
The axiom pro 61 works fine.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:00 AM
Diccer Diccer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: under a bridge, USA
Posts: 194
Arrow Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Emperor
The Novation AutoMap software/hardware is really the best option, goes beyond fine and costs about the same. It has the heads up display, you can save maps from the software program. The Nocturn and SL mk II are the best controllers because they're small just the cc/pads/swithes and they fit on top of your Favorite keyboard controller. So if you have a preference on what keys you are playing all day long, then this is the best of both worlds. Also AutoMap 4.2 will do everything, including all your 3rd party hardware. You can control multiple programs running in master mode (one hui others midi) and a host of other features no other controller platform can do..
__________________
Just Run Pro Tools as a Rewire Slave/Run Parallel.. its easier than you think. Example- RME TotalMix and the IAC Midi Driver
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313749
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:03 PM
dubpimpjuice dubpimpjuice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Singer Island, FL
Posts: 130
Default Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
The axiom pro 61 works fine.
C'mon man... Throw him a bone! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:26 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

The Axiom Pro series really is much easier to deal with, set up, and integrate than the old version. So I second it as a good suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:17 PM
Diccer Diccer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: under a bridge, USA
Posts: 194
Arrow Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

I don't second the Axiom Pro, nor do I by default always suggest the Avid product. Probably Emporer can decide for himself. The Nocturn is $100 and Automap4.2 another 40. Easy way to evaluate. There is no software gui for the Axiom, nor is there a stand alone mini controller. The Nocturn allows you control multiple Air Effects Plug in simultaneously becuase it is small enough you can have multiple controllers on the workspace with room to spare.

But if you need an Axiom you'll find a ton of the on Craig's list for cheap when people figure out their options..
__________________
Just Run Pro Tools as a Rewire Slave/Run Parallel.. its easier than you think. Example- RME TotalMix and the IAC Midi Driver
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313749
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:17 PM
EmperorMusic EmperorMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 7
Thumbs up Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Thanks for all the responses! I ended up doing a little research on my own and decided on the Novation Impulse. It is very similar to the axiom pro but comes with the Automap software to sync your hardware to whatever parameters you want in pretty much every major editing software! With one click i can switch between controlling Pro Tools to Reason or Ableton or Cubase! and if i don't like the way the parameters are set up on the controller i can configure it the way i want very easily and instantly within the Automap software!

And for the same number of controllable control surfaces as the axiom pro it is a heck of a lot cheaper!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2012, 04:05 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmperorMusic View Post
With one click i can switch between controlling Pro Tools to Reason or Ableton or Cubase!
HyperControl supports Reason, Ableton, Cubase and Axiom Pro Patches can be loaded to correspond with what application you are working on.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-16-2012, 04:42 PM
Diccer Diccer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: under a bridge, USA
Posts: 194
Arrow Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

AutoMap 4.2 has 550mb of control maps for pretty much every daw and plug in in existence. And it has a GUI to save your neck from having to navigate the tiny axiom screen. Sorry Filo, but Maudio by design is not cutting it..

Emperor
Again be sure you like the keys on the novation before buying the all in one unit.. You could have an 88 note keybed of choice then put the mini controller in the center and upright for closer control.. Just a thought
__________________
Just Run Pro Tools as a Rewire Slave/Run Parallel.. its easier than you think. Example- RME TotalMix and the IAC Midi Driver
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313749
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2012, 05:02 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Are there Pro Tools 10 compatible MIDI controllers?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dubpimpjuice View Post
C'mon man... Throw him a bone! LOL
lol well the axiom 61 first gen which is not the same as the axiom pro 61 doesn't work well with pt 10.. or so he says, can't confirm. But The axiom pro 61 works like a charm with pt 10 since I use it often to enter VI's parts. Hypercontrol works well with PT 10 and so does the learn function for the axiom pro.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diccer View Post
I don't second the Axiom Pro, nor do I by default always suggest the Avid product. Probably Emporer can decide for himself. The Nocturn is $100 and Automap4.2 another 40. Easy way to evaluate. There is no software gui for the Axiom, nor is there a stand alone mini controller. The Nocturn allows you control multiple Air Effects Plug in simultaneously becuase it is small enough you can have multiple controllers on the workspace with room to spare.

But if you need an Axiom you'll find a ton of the on Craig's list for cheap when people figure out their options..
I don't necessarily always recommend Avid's product first, but since I use this one on a regular basis, I know it works well. And I've tried quite a few, still have quite a few too that are picking up dusts, just in case a client is more comfortable with those rather than the one I have out, plugged in and ready to use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diccer View Post
AutoMap 4.2 has 550mb of control maps for pretty much every daw and plug in in existence. And it has a GUI to save your neck from having to navigate the tiny axiom screen. Sorry Filo, but Maudio by design is not cutting it..

Emperor
Again be sure you like the keys on the novation before buying the all in one unit.. You could have an 88 note keybed of choice then put the mini controller in the center and upright for closer control.. Just a thought
Also, you can work with watching a small screen if you want to, or an other GUI that overlaps your pro tools session in which you always have to mess with to either put it away or make it transparant and then still have a clouded view of your session, or you can simply work as intended with the plugins or VI's open and watch your computer screen for the changes that your doing, without having to use a secondary and cluttery GUI.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 2 MIDI controllers in Pro Tools 9. GraemeLittle MIDI 3 09-18-2011 08:09 PM
USB MIDI Controllers With Pro Tools LE 8? steals 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-07-2010 07:52 AM
midi controllers and pro-tools, help pls ! revere 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-13-2008 02:36 PM
Is there a list of controllers compatible with MP? NeveSSL Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-30-2006 03:17 PM
PRO TOOLS & MIDI CONTROLLERS dmaxj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-03-2003 02:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com