Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:52 PM
New003RackUser New003RackUser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware.

Hello DUC Users.

I just bought the DIGO 003 Rack and I read the complete Manual due to the worth of the Hardware. I followed the manual and istalled the Digi 003 Rack and tried to install PT 7.3. Unfortunately, the DVD would not work. I tried uploading the older Protools 7 that I had my PC from the MBox 2. When I loaded PT 7, it recognized the Digi 003 Rack as the 002 Rack and uploaded the Digi 002 Firmware on my Digi 003.

I went to www.Digidesign.com and read the Support FAQ and it said I should hold MUTE and AUX IN 7/8 and Power up the Digi 003 Rack (and I did and all MIDI lights are blinking at this point)then Run Protools and I should get a pop to update the 003 FIRMWARE.

When I run ProTools, I get this pop up "Unable to locate Digidesign hardware. Make sureyour hardware is connected and turned on. Click OK when the hardware is ready". The first time I plugged in the DIGI 003 Rack, it was recognized by my Computer but now neither the Digi 003 Rack or my External Hard Drive will connect via Firewire. Do I need to use one of Digidesign's approved Firewire PCI Cards to solve this connectiveity problem?

If anyone can shed any light on my situation, I would appreciate it.

M.

My computer was built.
__________________
PT 7.4, Digi 003R, Dual Processor PC WinXP, Motif 8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:13 PM
StavrosSound StavrosSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 264
Default Re: Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware.

Quote:
When I loaded PT 7, it recognized the Digi 003 Rack as the 002 Rack and uploaded the Digi 002 Firmware on my Digi 003
Quote:
Unfortunately, the DVD would not work
From what I recall, the Digi003 series came out starting with PT 7.3, just so you know why that happened with the other disc. And the reason the Digi003 probably is not showing up... no support/drivers for it on that version. Hence, why if your drive is plugged into the Firewire on the back of that, it would equally not detect.

Contact Digi about your problem. Hopefully what happenend wasn't like this but noly in reverse: http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...&categoryid=34 (first entry)
__________________
"White noise- the birth cry of the universe."
IMDb Credits
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2007, 09:05 PM
Neil33 Neil33 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware.

I have a problem which was identical to your topic, so I'll just post it here in the hope that someone can help me.

My 003r constantly says it needs the firmware update whenever I launch 7.4. I can update it through the screen menu, the lights on my 003 blink like it's accepting the update, but then the next time I launch 7.4 it gives me the same message about needing to update the firmware--?? Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2007, 07:06 AM
New003RackUser New003RackUser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware.

Thanks for the Help SS.

I called Digidesign and they gave me some more options. I even installed ProTools on a different computer in hopes on ProTools recognizing the DIGI 003 Rack, but that didn't work.

At this point the Digi 003 Rack is in the box and getting ready to be shipped back to Digidesign for reset/repair.

The only advice I can give on the Digi 003 Family to New Users are FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS, or you'll be sending your Hardware in for repair.

Thanks,
Mike.
__________________
PT 7.4, Digi 003R, Dual Processor PC WinXP, Motif 8.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2007, 09:01 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware.

Quote:
I have a problem which was identical to your topic, so I'll just post it here in the hope that someone can help me.

My 003r constantly says it needs the firmware update whenever I launch 7.4. I can update it through the screen menu, the lights on my 003 blink like it's accepting the update, but then the next time I launch 7.4 it gives me the same message about needing to update the firmware--?? Any ideas?
Are you on Mac or PC? Which OS version? Are you using the cable that came with the 003? Have you tried a different cable? Which port on the computer are you using? Have you tried a different port?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Rack Firmware Update soundboy35 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-21-2010 10:44 AM
003 firmware update on 002 rack...question?? thevspeed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 08-27-2009 05:56 AM
002 Rack Bad Firmware Update abstech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 12-27-2006 08:50 AM
002 Rack Bad Firmware Update abstech 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-13-2006 10:37 AM
*002 Rack Firmware Update with PT 6.7 LE* acousmatix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-14-2005 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com