Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 03-25-2002, 01:41 PM

Default Calling all Masters, Need Help Mastering

This one's obvious. I need help mastering. i've had no experience mastering except my own tinkering. I bounce all the tracks to one stereo interleaved track and put a compressor and EQ on it. i like to bring out low end, but my masters never fail to come out too bassy. very muddy. i do all this with the EQ off, so it just takes some tweaking. then i use the Stereo comp 2 compressor pre-set and boost the gain and loosen up the limiter. i've gotten a compressor i'm happy with, but the EQ never seems quite bright enough. sometimes it seems like from my mix to my master, it gets worse, and it's very possible. any suggestions? also, if anyone can give me advice on how to get a really fat crunchy guitar sound, it would help out. we play a SO Cal style of punk/emo/rock i guess you could say if it helps.

bob
Old 03-25-2002, 02:53 PM

Default Re: Calling all Masters, Need Help Mastering

If you're consistantly getting exagerated bass response, perhaps it's the first signs of getting to know your speakers and overall monitoring system.
What monitors are you using, how are they placed and more importantly, how is the room setup? All these factors can help us help you in getting better results.

Also, what compressors are you using. Plugins, external?

If you can get a hold of the Waves bundle or even the moderately priced Renaissance Pack, slap a C4 and L1 across your master fader.

With the C4, you can apply different compression settings across the frequency range, should you want a tighter low end without affecting the highs, etc.