Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 09-29-2011, 12:54 PM

Default Digi 002-using FW & core-audio drivers to output audio to mac WITHOUT using ProTools

First off, I am new to the world of digital audio recording.
I didn't want to make the newbie mistake of asking a question that has been asked 50 times already, so I searched for the answer before asking the question.
If I missed it in the forum, my apologies.
I also apologize for the length of this post, but I thought I should give too much info rather than not enough.

What I am trying to do is record 2 guitars and a PA on 3 separate tracks so that I can EQ and tweak them after recording.

I have been using a cheap Behringer mixer to send these 3 mic signals to my mac via USB.
The behringer output (rca cables) is connected to a small Xitel inPort device that converts the signal to USB.
The USB goes into the mac, and I record using Audacity.
This is great for what I am doing but the 3 channels are "summed" into one stereo track that is recorded to the mac.
Even though I try to get a good level before recording, inevitably, one of the guitars or the PA comes out too high in the final summed stereo track.

What I want to do is record multiple tracks, live, simultaneously so that each mic is on its own independent track.

I researched a bunch of USB and firewire enabled mixers, but was not sure about their functionality.

Then I had a buddy give me a Digi 002.

I do not have ProTools, nor do I want it.
The learning curve looks fairly steep, and for what I am doing that would be massive overkill.
Audacity is fine for my situation.