Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-12-2007, 07:45 PM

Default Breathy vocals and vocals in general

Hey everyone, I'm new to protools and i've been trying to record vocals with sort of a breathy almost whispery quality, sort of like chino of the deftones if you know them. i'm not playing metal, mostly ambient type stuff but i can't get a level right without it clipping or just sounding really [bleep]. what are some good ways to maximize the breath. im using an MBox 2 by the way.

also, does anyone have any tips for recording vocals in general? everyone always says "make sure you use compression" well i do but it doesnt seem to affect the overall sound at all so maybe i'm doing it wrong.

thanks!
Old 01-23-2007, 05:12 PM

Default Re: Gettin Breathy vocals and great vocals...

Yep, you're doin it wrong.
There's a great educational DVD, BTW, that talks about some of this and some other great recording/PT techniques, by a guy named Russ Long (called 'Russ Long's Guide to Nashville Recording'); Published by Las Vegas Audio -- google it. It's about $30 or $40.

First, I have much better luck with a really good microphone, like a Neumann U87, or a ribbon
If it's a ribbon, tho, gotta use lots of Preamp (~60-70db). Secondly, gotta have a pop filter, mount the mic above the singers head but facing downward.

Third, set up your compressor. I just use a crappy Behringer Composer Pro, but it works great
(Of course, it's nicer if you have something like a Focusrite Producer Pack MkII).

Set the ratio about 2 or three, fast attack & release, and bring the threshold up (watching your Db meters) until you get a couple of Db reduction while singing.