Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-1999, 10:59 AM
Lion Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 131
Default pitch transpose

Hi!
I have a flute solo recorded - perfect except that the pitch is a little bit too low. What's the best way to pitch the whole track a few cents? I don't want the timing to change, should I do this from Pro Tools, Logic, or Bias Piak, or?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-1999, 11:21 AM
Techsupt2 Techsupt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 106
Default Re: pitch transpose

Lion

This can be done in Pro Tools with our DPP-1(Digital Pitch Processor) though there are other plug-in manufactures that make this type of plug-in.


Brad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-1999, 04:41 PM
Lion Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 131
Default Re: pitch transpose

Thanks,
I have this plug in, I was curious whether any users had opinions on the sonic differences, if there are any.
Merry Christmas everyone!
Lion
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-1999, 06:41 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: pitch transpose

If you already have those programs, why not just try them all and see which one does the best job?

For instance, Logic has a two pitch shifting algorithms; the one that preserves formants (licensed from Prosoniq, I believe) is really quite good.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-1999, 02:36 PM
Lion Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 131
Default Re: pitch transpose

Nick
thanks, I always use logic for this since I am most familiar with it, I was just curious if any users out there had opinions on the sonic differences.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-1999, 02:44 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,454
Default Re: pitch transpose

lion,
the only thing to do is try different algorythms. one that works well for voice, (which it is optimised for, i think) like pure pitch, absolutely ******on most other things. just use your ears. flute makes a very pure waveform so i'll bet it will be tough to find a pitch shifter that you don't "hear". good luck, and let us know.
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-1999, 02:30 PM
doc22 doc22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 216
Default Re: pitch transpose

If your only off a few cents, you might try Auto-Tune by Antares. You can download the demo and give it a try w/o spending any money. If you have long, sustained notes, you may get some artifacts, but it's worth a try. I've had better luck with A-T than using the built-in PT algorhythms.

doc22
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-01-2000, 12:52 AM
Jerrold Launer Jerrold Launer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Posts: 6
Default Re: pitch transpose

The absolutely BEST plug in for pitch alteration can be found at:
http://www.serato.com/

------------------
www.jerroldlauner.com
__________________
www.jerroldlauner.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-02-2000, 10:38 AM
Stratman Stratman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: NY,NY,USA
Posts: 387
Default Re: pitch transpose

Nithing can touch Serato's "Pitch'n' Time. It is the best.
__________________
It's the computer's game we play when we decide to make music with it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2000, 10:43 AM
Freiberg Freiberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Novato, CA, USA
Posts: 20
Default Re: pitch transpose

well ... WHERE ... can you actually PURCHASE Pitch'n'time ... I've been watching the web site ... nada yet?

David
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI bug - Transpose Firechild macOS 6 03-27-2020 07:42 AM
transpose Jel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-19-2009 08:44 PM
How do I transpose.... Elton Hyland 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-05-2007 10:32 AM
Pitch Transpose Roq_it Tips & Tricks 4 01-10-2007 02:15 PM
transpose in audio HOW???? Mano Tips & Tricks 2 12-24-2001 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com