Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-04-2021, 02:31 PM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

@DarrylRamm I’ve done that, yes, and I’ve done that step repeatedly.

You said: “ rerun the installer and in System Preferences>Security & Privacy>General look for the message

I’ve looked for a message, but none have appeared.

I wish the installer could be written such that it intervenes during the install, and after a YES submission, writes into the plist that we’ve allowed the driver to perform whatever system function it needs, and with the appropriate permissions.

But that’s for another day!
At this point, I have an Avid case open, so thanks for your trying to help; I’ll post back what engineering comes up with when it’s all resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2021, 03:26 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,353
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

If no message just try Unlock after install. I had this seemingly work, where no message was in Security & Privacy settings.

Are you a granted admin of your Mac? (...IT department)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Thanks, DetroitT.
Yes I’ve got admin privs and can execute sudo commands.

When you Unlocked after install, do you recall the name of the item you unlocked in Privacy?

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-04-2021, 07:29 PM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

That gives me some ammo, Darryl - thanks!
I’ll give that a shot (away until Monday) when I’m back.

Cheers and have a good weekend,
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-2021, 12:56 PM
Matt Stephanson Matt Stephanson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 36
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Update:

Success!
After running this command, it is all working now.

sudo kextload /Library/Extensions/DigiDal.kext

So if you're in a managed environment like a school, you'll need to run it this way. And you'll need to be the root user to do that (may need your IT dept to run it for you).

Thanks for everyone's support on here, and thanks to Avid!

Mix on . . .
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-10-2021, 11:01 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Great to hear!
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-20-2021, 09:26 AM
BerndVP BerndVP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Malderen, Belgium
Posts: 15
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Stephanson View Post
Update:

Success!
After running this command, it is all working now.

sudo kextload /Library/Extensions/DigiDal.kext

So if you're in a managed environment like a school, you'll need to run it this way. And you'll need to be the root user to do that (may need your IT dept to run it for you).

Thanks for everyone's support on here, and thanks to Avid!

Mix on . . .
Do you need to run this command every time if you reboot you're system ?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-20-2021, 02:49 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

No, that should not be necessary.
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-23-2021, 12:24 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: New Mac Pro Doesn't See Avid Omni HD Native Thunderbolt

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Stephanson View Post
Thanks for helping out, folks!

1. Is there a known issue with an Apple TB3(usb-c) to TB2 adaptor?
We had a problem with one on an iMac Pro going into the cage housing the HD card. All of a sudden PT couldn't see the card. We reinstalled drivers and everything. I eventually swapped TB3 to TB2 adapters between ports and it came back. VERY ODD.

We have spare adapters on hand just in case. For the price, it may be worth keeping a backup around.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fs Thunderbolt HD native + Omni, PRE agradl Buy & Sell 2 05-06-2020 06:10 AM
Avid HD Omni & HD Native Thunderbolt edwinstar Buy & Sell 3 10-30-2017 05:28 PM
SELLING AVID C|24 omni thunderbolt hd native greenplanet3d Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 03-24-2016 10:35 AM
Audio Midi Setup doesn't recognize io on Avid HD Omni Thunderbolt MJarzabek Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 10-10-2013 07:36 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and OMNI for Sale drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 03-15-2013 06:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com