Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2005, 06:42 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,752
Default Amplitube Live

I just got Amplitube Live for $80 at Guitar Center. I didn't open the box yet, but I was wondering what your thoughts are on this. I don't own the full Amplitube or Amp Farm or anything like that, just a Boss GT-3, that sounds decent direct. Is it worth keeping, or should I return it? Are the sounds that great that it's worth not going through the trouble of setting up a mic in front of an amp? Thanks for the help.
-Ryan
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:34 PM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: Amplitube Live

amplitube is a great plug. I didnt think that amplitube live was a plug in though. Isnt it a standalone app? I mainly use amplitube because my home studio room setup makes it hard to isolate loud guitar cabs...so amplitube gets used for scratch tracks so theres no bleed in the drum mics. On occasion I find the tones from amplitube to be so good that I actually use them over my jcm-2000 dsl100.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:52 PM
Norm Alise Norm Alise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Default Re: Amplitube Live

Quote:
amplitube is a great plug. I didnt think that amplitube live was a plug in though. Isnt it a standalone app? I mainly use amplitube because my home studio room setup makes it hard to isolate loud guitar cabs...so amplitube gets used for scratch tracks so theres no bleed in the drum mics. On occasion I find the tones from amplitube to be so good that I actually use them over my jcm-2000 dsl100.
I posted here a while back on the virtues of Amplitude (The Full version) and basically got shot down in flames by quite a few "experts" saying it was crap. Amazing that everytime I come here for a look, these same "experts" are still posting on anything and everything. When do they actually have time to record?

I have said it before and I will say it again, Amplitude is a great amp simulator. It has a bottom end that I have not found on other simulators. I have been recording guitar since 1987, first desk I ever worked on was a fully automated SSL, owned every guitar amp under the sun and I agree with the above post. Sometimes Amplitude sounds so good the tracks end up as keepers.

Amplitude Live though is a stand alone application which is meant to do exactly what it says.
It's for say a laptop so you can have all variety of amps etc at a gig, rehearsal.

Only downside to Amplitude is that it is one noisy mutha, funny that, just like a real amp.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Try Amplitube Live? EjA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-17-2005 01:21 PM
Amplitube live and 001 problem Tedmod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-07-2003 08:01 AM
Anyone buy the Reason/Live/Amplitube package? Ray Campbell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2003 10:50 AM
Playing live trough Amplitube and mBox?? Oscar Morante 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 09-12-2003 09:08 AM
Amplitube LIve + Digi001 : Anyone have this working? Muxlow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-29-2003 09:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com