Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Old 01-10-2002, 10:23 PM

Default Why MacOSX?

I've seen a lot of posts recently asking for Pro Tools to be MacOSX compatible.

Why? I tried using my Ibook with OSX the other day and I didn't get it. The dock was unecessary and all the menus are in different places for no particular reason.

Internet Explorer ran a little slower. That's all I tried.
Old 01-10-2002, 11:33 PM

Default Re: Why MacOSX?

well, for one reason, Apple is now shipping OS X as the default OS. We can suspect that support for earlier version of Mac OS to slowly disappear. Also, I believe there are many advantages to OS X over OS 9 and earlier. I've been running OS X on my Powerbook for 3 months or so, and I haven't had a crash or freeze. Compare that to OS 9 on my G3 Desktop (in which I run ProTools) where I get at least one crash or freeze a week. Stability is important. I'm sure there are many more advantages that someone else can share. I hear what you are saying about OS X being quite different than OS 9, but you'll get used to it. I quite enjoy using it over 9 now.
Old 01-11-2002, 12:22 AM

I have to agree with macjam. I've been working in OS X for the last 2 months on my business computer almost exclusively and I think it's great.

Protools should be OS X native sometime this year (sooner the better I hope). If you have the time, take a look (view it all if you can) at a long QT movie from a Macworld Expo presentation about OS X. http://www.apple.com/quicktime/qtv/powerofx/
At about 24min:10sec into the vid, Doug Wyatt (from Opcode - now with Apple) gives a short demo with OS X and MIDI and how it relates to latency.