Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 02-18-2020, 11:35 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Second that. Just remember to turn the HPF on, and keep it on, as its lowend is not nice


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Will do, thanks for the tip!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-18-2020, 11:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,255
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

No problem. Have used SM81 on many live gigs as overheads. For the price very nice if HPF is on


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-19-2020, 04:37 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
No problem. Have used SM81 on many live gigs as overheads. For the price very nice if HPF is on
Second that, great for acoustic guitars on the 12th fret, hi hats, you name it.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-20-2020, 09:06 AM
AE AE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 457
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You need to try it yourself


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
your comment was vague, so it's unclear what you're suggesting. are you saying any recording with a bidirectional pickup pattern that's heavily compressed will exhibit this phenomenon, or specifically distant room mics?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-20-2020, 04:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,165
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Speaking of the SM81; I have a friend that had a tall steel cabinet sitting about 12-15' away from his drums. He would lay an SM81 on a chunk of foam, inside the cabinet with the doors closed and record it along with the rest of the usual drum mics. It yielded a very cool and useful sound
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-21-2020, 02:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,255
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by AE View Post
your comment was vague, so it's unclear what you're suggesting. are you saying any recording with a bidirectional pickup pattern that's heavily compressed will exhibit this phenomenon, or specifically distant room mics?
If the bidirectional mic is placed far from drum kit (nearer to back wall) the effect is something I cannot live with. Should be placed in the middle of the room and even then I'd have a directional mic with it for MS.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-23-2020, 12:37 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
For limited budget, this is probably the best kept secret


Hey jfreak, I’ve been seriously considering the nt1000 you recommended. My friend also just told me about the Rode NT2A... was wondering if you know that one and how it compares with the nt1000?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-23-2020, 01:22 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,255
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
Hey jfreak, I’ve been seriously considering the nt1000 you recommended. My friend also just told me about the Rode NT2A... was wondering if you know that one and how it compares with the nt1000?
Hi,

Not well to be honest. It is supposed to be multi-pattern mic but other than cardioid it is just awful. NT1000 any day.

If you want to choose between two Rode models, choose between NT1000 (FET mic with cardioid pattern) and K2 (tube mic with variable pattern).

(Rode NTK a.k.a. K1 is also tube mic released at the same time as NT1000 but it is only cardioid. K2 has variable pattern)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-23-2020, 09:11 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,686
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Personally, I'd pass on the KSM32 and 44. They just never measured up for me
+1
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-23-2020, 09:15 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default Re: Room Mic for Drums

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Hi,

Not well to be honest. It is supposed to be multi-pattern mic but other than cardioid it is just awful. NT1000 any day.

If you want to choose between two Rode models, choose between NT1000 (FET mic with cardioid pattern) and K2 (tube mic with variable pattern).

(Rode NTK a.k.a. K1 is also tube mic released at the same time as NT1000 but it is only cardioid. K2 has variable pattern)


Great, thanks for that!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What level should i keep my drums so theres enough room for editing? rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 16 02-18-2012 10:03 AM
Dead room + Drums harlll Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-12-2004 10:39 PM
Treating a room for drums. Travis Mitchell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-19-2004 02:32 AM
I need 2 room mikes for drums digigirly Tips & Tricks 21 07-14-2002 12:29 AM
Drums in big recording room. Joz Tips & Tricks 23 05-25-2002 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com