Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:07 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 9
Default .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

When trying to import audio, drag from Finder or drag from Workspace, it doesn't work for any files in our sound library that end with .aiff - since we updated to 2019.12 from 2018something.
It works with all other file formats (.aif, .wav, .mp3, etc.).
In a soundbase workspace I tried to disable those files which only worked when I chose 'format is not quicktime', which confused me because I expected they would be aiff.

We have this problem with all three Apple Computers that we updated (Mac Pro Late 2013, MacBook Pro 2015 and an iMac Pro from 2017).
All three are on High Sierra 10.13.6.
It doesn't matter if the files are locally present or on a drive.

On the iMac I would also get this error message: Assertion in "/Volumes/Development/238958/ProTools/NewFileLibs/FF/Audio/FF_AudioFile.cpp", line 1339.

With the MacBook I installed 2019.10 to check where the problem is and I could listen to the files and import them without any problems.
So I suppose it must be either the ProTools version itself oder the combination with High Sierra?

I couldn't find anything on this topic.. does anyone else have such a problem? Or has something like it happened to you before and you have an idea for a solution?

Last edited by keine idee; 03-23-2020 at 09:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Hi, welcome to the community.

Does it work if you rename .aiff to .aif because it is just the same like .jpeg and .jpg
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:22 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 9
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Hi, welcome to the community.

Does it work if you rename .aiff to .aif because it is just the same like .jpeg and .jpg
Thanks!
I just tried this on one of the computers (Mac Pro 2013) and it didn't work. Still have to check with the others.
(It would also be a bit of a pain to rename all the files, since they are in a Digiffecs sound library)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Very strange if .aif file works but .aiff file does not. Have you tried converting the file to WAV just to check if the file itself is not corrupt?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:28 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 9
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Very strange if .aif file works but .aiff file does not. Have you tried converting the file to WAV just to check if the file itself is not corrupt?
No, I haven't. But I assumed the files should be okay, since I could import them without any problems to PT 2018.12 on my MacBook Late 2012 (also running High Sierra) and to PT 2019.10 the MacBook 2015..

I will try it though, maybe I find the problem there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

I'm running 2019.12 here but sorry cannot test for you as it's been almost two decades since I last used .aiff and don't have anything useful on my work drive
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2020, 09:39 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 9
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I'm running 2019.12 here but sorry cannot test for you as it's been almost two decades since I last used .aiff and don't have anything useful on my work drive
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9pld6s0ze...cKxHkTvba?dl=0
if you have time and feel like checking it, I put four of the files I can't import in this folder. (thank you very much anyway!)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2020, 03:51 AM
keine idee keine idee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Basel
Posts: 9
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

anyone else have any idea or a similar problem?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2020, 04:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,658
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Yes, your .aiff files are alright. QT Player opens them just fine.

No, PT 2019.12 on Catalina here is unable to import. Shows they are 44.1kHz 16bit audio but cannot find clips to import.

Converted to WAV and all is well.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2020, 07:20 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 451
Default Re: .aiff import in ProTools 2019.12 not working

Can you try using the import audio dialog window

File > Import > Audio (or use the keyboard shortcut, which is Shift+Command+I).

Instead of the drag and drop method?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Protools Ultimate 2019.10 working with S6L? JLC VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 11-08-2019 02:31 AM
Import audio CD not working in Protools 12 redloz Pro Tools 12 5 04-23-2015 02:53 AM
Can't Import AIFF Snowman999 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-08-2014 12:04 AM
Aiff import BUG? OliJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-07-2004 10:37 PM
AIFF import ChrysalisEngineering 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-14-2004 07:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com