Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:25 AM
jamesa5454 jamesa5454 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 17
Default 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Hey all, I'm currently on a corona-hiatus so thought I'd take the time to upgrade my system. I was running MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6 & PT 2019.12 but have now done a clean install of Catalina 10.15.4 & PT 2020.3. (Yes, I know that 10.15.4 is not officially supported, but Apple doesn't let you download older versions of the OS )

I openned the rather large session that I was working prior to the corona-hiatus and immediately noticed that the video was dropping frames. This is not my first rodeo and I never upgrade before cloning the OS, so I re-booted with the old OS and made some comparisons.

Using iStat Menus I made a screen shot of each system's CPU usage whilst playing over exactly the same point on the timeline. (NB It's the same session playing off the same drive on the same computer)

CPU Stats from 10.13.6 / PT 2019.12:

Total User: 49%
Total System: 9%
Total Idle: 42%

Pro Tools: 354.7%
Dolby Atmos Renderer: 31.8%
EuControl: 15.1%
kernel_task: 14.8%
WindowServer 14.4%
coreaudiod: 2.5%

App CPU Stats from 10.15.4 / PT 2020.3:

Total User: 59%
Total System: 10%
Total Idle: 31%

Pro Tools: 440.6%
Dolby Atmos Renderer: 49.0%
Window Server: 27.8%
kernel_task: 16.1%
coreaudiod: 3.2%
EuControl: 3.1%

Now, I can't be sure if the problem is related to Pro Tools, or the OS - but given that there is a big difference in both Pro Tool's AND Dolby's CPU usage I'd be willing to bet that the culprit is more likely to be the OS.

I guess the next test would be to upgrade Pro Tools on the High Sierra OS to 2020.3 and see what the results are.

Anybody else seeing anything similar?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2020, 11:42 AM
latweek latweek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
bet that the culprit is more likely to be the OS.
This is apple's business model....OS upgrades sell new hardware.....same .as it ever was.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2020, 12:20 PM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,049
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by latweek View Post
This is apple's business model....OS upgrades sell new hardware.....same .as it ever was.
Not always. Sierra performed much better than El Capitan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:20 PM
metalmixer metalmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 259
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

I am using Mojave and I notice that my CPU usage dropped a lot. 2020/3 is for sure more efficient than 2019.12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2020, 02:33 PM
latweek latweek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_lowe View Post
Not always. Sierra performed much better than El Capitan
Exceptions prove the rule.

If you take a step back, anyone can see by far, over the history of OS upgrades on in place HW, from iPhones to Macs to PCs, the consistent theme is......you got to upgrade HW.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2020, 02:41 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,768
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Same here. Our trashcans 12 core machines works better on high sierra than our brand new Mac Pro’s with 28 Cores each and Catalina so hope PT Ultimate will catch up to the new OS as we cant and wont downgrade our new insane 7.1’s.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2020, 09:19 AM
MrDibS MrDibS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 61
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalmixer View Post
I am using Mojave and I notice that my CPU usage dropped a lot. 2020/3 is for sure more efficient than 2019.12
Same here with Mojave. I've seen a significant increase in efficiency on 2020.3 and a decrease in errors. There are WAY too many variables with Catalina still.
__________________
Mac Pro 2013 12 Core Trashcan, 64 gigs, OSX 10.14.6
PT HD Ultimate 2020.3 HDX with Focusrite Red 8pre, Dock + S3.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2020, 06:08 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 666
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
Same here. Our trashcans 12 core machines works better on high sierra than our brand new Mac Pro’s with 28 Cores each and Catalina so hope PT Ultimate will catch up to the new OS as we cant and wont downgrade our new insane 7.1’s.

Wow!
Southsidemusic, is that really true?
That really makes me re-consider dropping 7 grand on a new mac, if its going to be slower than my 12core trash can.

In what way is it 'better' on the trash can macs?
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, PT 2020.3
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2020, 07:11 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,768
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheesehead View Post
Wow!
Southsidemusic, is that really true?
That really makes me re-consider dropping 7 grand on a new mac, if its going to be slower than my 12core trash can.

In what way is it 'better' on the trash can macs?
I think it is Catalina that is the issues. TNM has a good knowledge on why this is happening so I’ll PM him and ask if he can tell you the tech part but I am pretty sure our new 20K + USD each MP’s will get there once PT Ultimate catch up with better core distribution and other stuff.

We are slowly moving over to the new Macs but will keep the Trashcans for now as they really are great with HS and 2020.3.

This is just our findings and of course there might be a solution but after dropping almost 50K USD on these 2 monsters I am pretty baffled!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-12-2020, 02:39 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 666
Default Re: 2020.3 using much more CPU - results in video dropped frames

I read some of TNM's posts about cpu throttling, but I would have thought there would be a stellar difference in performance with your 28 core machines regardless!


It must be a Catalina/PT thing, obviously needs some work.



Oh well, good to know. I'll stick with what I have now for a bit and see how it pans out.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, PT 2020.3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dropped frames?? zadie Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 03-27-2005 09:17 AM
dropped frames with white flash frames Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 6 05-08-2003 10:57 AM
video dropped frames in capture re-re-re visited Michael Klinger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-25-2002 01:09 PM
Problem revisited: Dropped frames in video capture Michael Klinger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 11-15-2001 12:44 AM
Dropped Frames in QT pindebraende 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-25-2001 12:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com