Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2018, 08:49 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 478
Default Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

I have read the optimization suggestions for Mac OS, (latest for 10.13);

Why does AVID suggest only disabling Spotlight when recording over 50 minutes?

Question for the individuals who have a deep underlying understanding of the Mac System / OS

1 . How many of you disable Spotlight when using ProTools? If so, how do you disable? via Terminal? (I understand it is required for indexing within workspace).

2. If you don't disable spotlight are there specific "Spotlight Categories" within System Preferences that you choose to disable?

3. Maybe a different way to ask the question is do you have a method(s) you use to optimize the OS such that the Spotlight process does not or minimally impacts the CPU usage when recording however maintains workspace functionality?
__________________
W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / TB3 AIC
PT2018.10 / HDX1 / Eucon 18.3 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD x8P, OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt

Late 2013 MacBook Pro / PT2018.10

Last edited by jjnssn; 10-13-2018 at 09:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2018, 05:24 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 455
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnssn View Post
I have read the optimization suggestions for Mac OS, (latest for 10.13);

Why does AVID suggest only disabling Spotlight when recording over 50 minutes?

Question for the individuals who have a deep underlying understanding of the Mac System / OS

1 . How many of you disable Spotlight when using ProTools? If so, how do you disable? via Terminal? (I understand it is required for indexing within workspace).

2. If you don't disable spotlight are there specific "Spotlight Categories" within System Preferences that you choose to disable?

3. Maybe a different way to ask the question is do you have a method(s) you use to optimize the OS such that the Spotlight process does not or minimally impacts the CPU usage when recording however maintains workspace functionality?
I'd like to know as well.
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.7 * OS X 10.12.5 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2018, 08:26 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Spotlight is so essential, especially if you have any samples on the same drive.. But even with audio projects, spotlight is ultra reliable to re link any missing files.. If they are on the drive, it's instant. Logic makes use of it, kontakt makes extensive use of it, spotlight is a wonderful thing.

All I do is use tinker tool system to build a fresh spotlight index on each drive once a month, the entire process takes 15 minutes a month, and my spotlight databases are always optimal size and perfectly up top date.

I have *never* had a performance issue with spotlight, and I swear, for me at least, turning it off uncovers more problems than it fixes.

YMMV of course, and it could very well be in my case, because I only ever record song length audio...But whatever the reason is, it's only benefitted me over here.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2018, 08:56 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 478
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
Spotlight is so essential, especially if you have any samples on the same drive.. But even with audio projects, spotlight is ultra reliable to re link any missing files.. If they are on the drive, it's instant. Logic makes use of it, kontakt makes extensive use of it, spotlight is a wonderful thing.



All I do is use tinker tool system to build a fresh spotlight index on each drive once a month, the entire process takes 15 minutes a month, and my spotlight databases are always optimal size and perfectly up top date.



I have *never* had a performance issue with spotlight, and I swear, for me at least, turning it off uncovers more problems than it fixes.



YMMV of course, and it could very well be in my case, because I only ever record song length audio...But whatever the reason is, it's only benefitted me over here.


So you leave all types checked including searches and no drives in privacy? Essentially the default settings? Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / TB3 AIC
PT2018.10 / HDX1 / Eucon 18.3 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD x8P, OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII Thunderbolt

Late 2013 MacBook Pro / PT2018.10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2018, 06:45 AM
skizzo skizzo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 72
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

is it just me or didn't they USED to have a little blurb about disabling the cmd + space bar combo in spotlight for starting a record take in PT? I'm pretty sure that was mentioned in older versions like PT8 but I went from that version to 2018.3 so I don't know when they would have stopped suggesting that. I always disable that key combo so PT can use it. I'm just surprised they don't still have that in the optimization section anymore.
__________________
Mac Pro '09 - 5,1 - Hex Core X5690 3.46 ghz CPU - 48GB RAM
640GB Apple OEM HDD (10.6.8) - 250GB OWC SSD (10.13.4) - 1TB WD HDD (Samples) - 4TB Toshiba HDD (Backups) - 500GB Glyph GT050Q (Legacy sessions & backups) - 3TB Glyph Studio (Main audio/sessions)
GT120 & RX580 Pulse 8GB GPUs

OSX 10.6.8 - Pro Tools 8.0.5 LE - Digi 003 Rack+
OSX 10.13.6 - Pro Tools 2018.7 - Presonus Studio 192
Focusrite Clarett OctoPre - AKG HPE6 - DBX160A - WA76
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2018, 09:00 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjnssn View Post
So you leave all types checked including searches and no drives in privacy? Essentially the default settings? Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
No, I turn off as much as the internet based searching as I can.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2018, 11:37 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by skizzo View Post
is it just me or didn't they USED to have a little blurb about disabling the cmd + space bar combo in spotlight for starting a record take in PT? I'm pretty sure that was mentioned in older versions like PT8 but I went from that version to 2018.3 so I don't know when they would have stopped suggesting that. I always disable that key combo so PT can use it. I'm just surprised they don't still have that in the optimization section anymore.
Yes. Disabling the key combo is still a good idea if you use the shortcut key to put your session into record. There are other shortcut keys to do the same thing: F12 or the numeric pad 3. So if you want to leave the default spotlight combo on, you can switch to one of these.

They also used to recommend turning off spotlight (these are two separate issues - key combo vs file indexing) but at PT11 (it may have been PT10), they changed to using the system file indexing (Spotlight) to match up audio clips vs running their own completely separate databases. Which is a good thing.

So now you need to keep Spotlight on. However, you don't need to keep the key combo shortcut "on" for Spotlight.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2018, 02:34 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Spotlight and its impact to CPU Usage when recording on a Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Yes. Disabling the key combo is still a good idea if you use the shortcut key to put your session into record. There are other shortcut keys to do the same thing: F12 or the numeric pad 3. So if you want to leave the default spotlight combo on, you can switch to one of these.

They also used to recommend turning off spotlight (these are two separate issues - key combo vs file indexing) but at PT11 (it may have been PT10), they changed to using the system file indexing (Spotlight) to match up audio clips vs running their own completely separate databases. Which is a good thing.

So now you need to keep Spotlight on. However, you don't need to keep the key combo shortcut "on" for Spotlight.
This.. every word :)
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Real CPU Usage vs. Pro Tools System Usage Window tbonesteak4dinner Pro Tools 11 17 02-27-2017 05:12 AM
Recording Problems-Crackling on record, Comp Shutdown, CPU usage max. NEED HELP! Kieran-Joseph Pro Tools 10 13 08-01-2013 03:42 AM
Spotlight yet? PostHuman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-12-2010 02:52 PM
What would normal disk usage considered to be in the usage window? Digitopian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-08-2009 09:50 PM
MBox, CPU Usage and Recording yogel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-23-2002 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com