Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2015, 01:06 PM
cathywilson cathywilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Help with control 24 connection PT10

Hi everyone im having problems with a control 24 i purchased it seems to be stuck in offline mode it is connected via a crossover cable to my gigabit ethernet card its shows up in network properties as unidentified network,i have the digidesign ethernet protocol ticked and all others unchecked,i read somewhere that i need the diginet protocol installed, i tried to install but could not find the correct drivers in dae devices folder.
The system is WIN7 64 PT.10.3.9 am i missing something here guys ?



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2015, 02:47 PM
cathywilson cathywilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

Got it sorted thx had to remove and reinstall the network card and remove all ticked boxes except the Avid ethernet rebooted works fine now
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2015, 06:37 AM
Marcus Martin Marcus Martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

I'm having this same Issue right now and I can't get the idea of what is going on . I get the "diginet32.dll error-Can not start service" when i go to peripheral / Ethernet controller and click enable.

Did a Google and I get the

"Ethernet control surface installation for Windows systems:
1. Go to the Start Menu, right-click the My Network Places icon, and then choose Properties.
2. Right-click on the relevant Local Area Connection, and then choose Properties.
3. Click on Install, select “Protocol” and click the “Add” button.
4. Click on Have Disk.
5. Point to the DigiNet.inf file in Program Files/Common Files/Digidesign/DAE/Controllers/ProControl directory on your Local Disk.
6. Follow instructions on-screen to complete the installation.
7. Restart.



BUT!!! Once I get to "PART 5 on the list in the "hard disk" part the there is no "inf type" file that appears in the Dae/"controllers" folder window but I'd I navigate to in a different window it show "dll" flies so I'm stuck at this point right now

PLEASE HELP ME
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2015, 06:38 AM
Marcus Martin Marcus Martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

PT 10.3.9 and WINDOWS 8 os
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2015, 07:15 AM
Marcus Martin Marcus Martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

Dell xps 8700
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2015, 07:26 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,423
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Martin View Post
I'm having this same Issue right now and I can't get the idea of what is going on . I get the "diginet32.dll error-Can not start service" when i go to peripheral / Ethernet controller and click enable.

Did a Google and I get the

"Ethernet control surface installation for Windows systems:
1. Go to the Start Menu, right-click the My Network Places icon, and then choose Properties.
2. Right-click on the relevant Local Area Connection, and then choose Properties.
3. Click on Install, select “Protocol” and click the “Add” button.
4. Click on Have Disk.
5. Point to the DigiNet.inf file in Program Files/Common Files/Digidesign/DAE/Controllers/ProControl directory on your Local Disk.
6. Follow instructions on-screen to complete the installation.
7. Restart.



BUT!!! Once I get to "PART 5 on the list in the "hard disk" part the there is no "inf type" file that appears in the Dae/"controllers" folder window but I'd I navigate to in a different window it show "dll" flies so I'm stuck at this point right now

PLEASE HELP ME
Hi,

Sorry I'm not a windows person! but you shouldn't have to do any of this! it should automatically see the driver for the control 24.

What cable are you using? a good quality ethernet cable should be used. pretty sure you don't need a cross-over cable!!!

Is there an orange and green light on the back of the control 24 to show its connected to the computer ok.

does the ethernet work on the PC ok? can you test with another device? broadband connection etc.

anything else connected to the ethernet on the pc?

Re-install the pro tools software to make sure the driver is installed for the control 24!

should just work after its been scanned in peripherals and selected in one of the boxes.



Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering E-Mixing & Mastering facility
www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.6 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2, Quad x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, Solid State Logic VHD, Anthony De Mario ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B Aphex 20Z. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2015, 08:30 AM
Marcus Martin Marcus Martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

hey chris thanks for the quick reply

and yes i believe its a good cable i tried to test the same setup with my macbook pro and indeed it works fine far as the auto-install soon as i press enable ethernet controller.

BUT being that im a mac guy also . my home studio is all mac but my business studio is a windows setup (dumb move i know)

So I get the same exact screen as the screenshots above but i dont have the "digidesign ethernet support" option
and when i tried to install the protcol in the network card it doesnt show the .inf type flie that it need to do it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2015, 10:18 PM
Marcus Martin Marcus Martin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 5
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

got the issue fix ..had to downgrade from win8 to win7 ...seeing that pt10 doesnt support win8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-27-2016, 04:03 PM
Tregtntent Tregtntent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: P.C. /USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcus Martin View Post
got the issue fix ..had to downgrade from win8 to win7 ...seeing that pt10 doesnt support win8
HOPEFULLY SOMEONE WILL READ THIS BECAUSE I NEED HELP TOO!!

I'm working with a control 24 and PT10 3.7.9. My message is saying that there is a Ethernet error. So it never gets to scan for the control 24. I recently upgraded my CPU to an i7 6 core MONSTER!! It came installed with Windows 10 Home Ed, and tweaked for running pro audio. Of course with the old CPU, running Windows 7 it worked like a charm. The steps I've taken so far is installing the Diginet file so it shows up under the ethernet protocol, also I've tried changing the compatibility mode under the PT shortcut to Win 7, with no luck, and lastly, I bought a network card and installed it, but was a waste of a few bucks. Any ideas of what it could be? I haven't seen any information about the Control 24 working with a PT system running Win 10. I'm stumped at this point.

Thanks for any suggestions

TG
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-21-2016, 11:39 PM
al-andrew's Avatar
al-andrew al-andrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Melbourne; Australia
Posts: 68
Default Re: Help with control 24 connection PT10

Can Somebody please tell me if there is a way to connect the output of the submix without using an interface input. My goal is to be able to connect my keyboard to Control 24 without needing to fire up ProTools to hear my Keybd


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 HD DAE losing connection Boe Larsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-26-2011 08:53 AM
No connection to Control 24. MEAT ICON & C|24 2 07-10-2010 12:09 PM
Control|24 + 192 - Connection problem RJW1982 ICON & C|24 3 09-25-2008 05:32 PM
control 24 losing connection w PT firedog57 ICON & C|24 3 02-02-2004 09:23 AM
control 24 and ethernet connection ianmiller ICON & C|24 3 03-02-2002 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com