Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2012, 06:02 PM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default install loop and install failures Solved.....so far

I can no longer re-install. I'm asked to reboot when it gets as far as Avid driver 64 over and over again. I actually had 9.06 and 10.1.2 running on the same system. I had a small midi bug. Someone suggested trashing preferences. Huge mistake. 12 hours later I have absolutely no Protools and 3 clients that will be coming back soon for mastering and/or mixing. Pro Tools is slow at installing, uninstalling, booting.
I'm on about my 30th reboots The last 5 attempts at a clean install of PT 10.0.0 gets me as far as the Avid 64 driver. then it tells me to reboot over and over again.
I did so many rollbacks, reinstalls, etc, etc.

What to do?
Update

I did a search on all Avid registry entries using F3 and deleted them. I was finally able to do a fresh install with the usual errors that you can ignore by choice. 10.0.01 is installed and that's where I will stay.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2012, 08:40 PM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: install loop and install failures Solved.....so far

When I fixed Protools by deleting some entries in the registry, I inadvertently deleted some keys and it's total content. After this, weird things started happening like my task bar locking out all icons and various control panel shortcuts not functioning. I did a roll back and found that it fixed all the windows problems and "reinstalled" the 10.1.2 but in a functioning state. 10.1.2 was not working at the time of the system store.
Lesson learned, be careful working with the registry but it did solve my issues with Protools not working.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I install Air Creative Collection 11.1.0? [solved] JGlen Windows 4 12-26-2013 04:45 PM
How can I install new aax plugins in Pro Tools 11? [solved] Paul Sombric Pro Tools 11 5 09-05-2013 05:42 PM
bought heat how to install [solved] Filmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 02-09-2013 07:43 AM
Solved: "Avid Eleven Rack Updater" not copied to Desktop during ERXP install. rwmacdonald Eleven Rack 8 03-22-2011 07:30 PM
Crash loop after install roberts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-03-2010 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com