Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2013, 12:56 AM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default How deep is an Omni interface?

Trying to see if it will fit in my rack before I pull the trigger. Before anyone tells me to google it, believe me, I have. No dimensions available on any site (avid, sweetwater, bh, etc).

Thanks!
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2013, 01:44 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,100
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IO Composer View Post
Trying to see if it will fit in my rack before I pull the trigger. Before anyone tells me to google it, believe me, I have. No dimensions available on any site (avid, sweetwater, bh, etc).

Thanks!
I will check when I get home later today. But to give you an ballpark idea it's deeper than most standard preamp dimentions.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2013, 01:58 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Mine is all tucked in and hard to reach to measure.
Maybe this picture gives you a general idea, knowing that two sides are 19":

__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2013, 02:57 AM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Thank you for the picture, but I'm horrible at geometry. Wild guess, I'm thinking 12.5" deep. Someone want to verify?
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2013, 03:37 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

14-3/4" or about 14" to front face of rack
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2013, 06:17 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,758
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Pro gear usually use full audio rack depth, which is about 18". Some FX boxes are not that deep so if you have seen not-so-deep racks they're meant for those. But preamps and AD/DA converters (and amps) usually require that 18" rack.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-30-2013, 11:20 AM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Thank you, Cliffy_Boy!
Bummer that it will not fit in the rack that I just ordered :/
Note for posterity: the SKB Studio Flyer is a no-go for the Avid Omni.
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-30-2013, 11:26 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,301
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

From the back of the faceplate to the rear panel... 13".

Leave room room connectors.

And remember... an Omni needs to vent,
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2013, 04:21 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,100
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Sorry for late answer, but I just measured the depth.

I get 34.5 cm.

Note that the power cable and any connected XLR cables builds another 7 cm out from the backside.
So with cables conneced about 41,5 cm (13,58 inches).
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-30-2013, 04:26 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,100
Default Re: How deep is an Omni interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IO Composer View Post
Thank you, Cliffy_Boy!
Bummer that it will not fit in the rack that I just ordered :/
Note for posterity: the SKB Studio Flyer is a no-go for the Avid Omni.

Are you shure?

Take a look at this video from Sweetwater talking about AVid HD Native.
The Omni is inside a box here:

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PTNatTBOmni/
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibrate OMNI interface for 5.1 output? drguitar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 04-08-2015 05:32 PM
Pro Tools LE 9 with Omni Interface? crada Post - Surround - Video 3 09-18-2013 07:29 AM
FS: Avid HD Omni interface friendlybunny Buy & Sell 2 08-08-2013 08:53 AM
using Pro Tools native with Omni HD interface jppp26 macOS 11 10-30-2012 04:35 AM
Omni interface...4 tracks only? mzkguy macOS 2 04-23-2012 09:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com