Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2011, 11:08 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Hi,

Installed Ozone 5 advanced demo! and PT would crash opening a session. tried 3-4 times then removed the ozone plugins and all was fine again.

repaired disk permissions and was able to load a session with ozone in the plugins folder. worked fine till the next boot of the mac and the same issue, just crash until i removed the plugins or repaired disk permissions again.

When i repair disk permissions i get a whole load of messages about "Java"

And one message about SUID file system/library/core services/ remote management/ ARDAgent.app "has not been repaired and will not be repaired"


Any ideas?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2011, 12:57 PM
RTFM RTFM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 147
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

ARD is Apple Remote Desktop and this kbase seems to indicate that error is not a problem and can be safely ignored...so you may have to look elsewhere for the culprit:

https://support.apple.com/kb/TS1448?viewlocale=en_US
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2011, 12:58 PM
RTFM RTFM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 147
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

You could try using the download of the OS version updater for the OS version you have installed and run it - it may fix the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2011, 02:31 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTFM View Post
You could try using the download of the OS version updater for the OS version you have installed and run it - it may fix the problem.
Hi,

Thanks keith,

I tried to update Java, although the website said 10.6.4 or above, when i went to install it said it needed 10.6.8.

I'm on 10.6.7 so think i'll update to 10.6.8 using the combo updater and effectively this might do what you suggest.

Quite bizarre, never had anything quite like this before.


chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2011, 03:29 PM
Phil Buckle Phil Buckle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Melbourne,Victoria,Australia
Posts: 259
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Chris I ran the demo of Ozone 5 Advanced on 10.6.8 with no problems.

When you do get it running please check out the meter response of O5 when using Audiosuite.
So slow and jumpy that it's unusable.
I sent them a report.
__________________
HD Accel 2, Magma PER64-I
Mac Pro 2x3.2 Quad Core/OSX 10.6.8/VEPro/PT9.03

http://philbuckle.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:04 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Hi,

Just an update.

Updated to 10.6.8 from 10.6.7 using the combo updater

then updated to the latest Java.

Now when i try to load a session with ozone 5 advanced demo, it gets to loading the mix bus then the auth screen for ozone appears and i select to continue and everything just stops loading and PT becomes unresponsive and i have to force quit.

Tried repairing disk permission but no go. had to remove ozone 5 from the plugs folder to load the session.


Bizarre, never seen anything like this one before.

No biggie as i only use the dithering but wanted to test against O4




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2011, 10:29 AM
b mcgibney b mcgibney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vancouver, B. C.
Posts: 602
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

That is too bad you cannot get it working because I think ozone 5 is pretty good.

B
__________________
2010 Mac 5,1 32 GB Ram. 2 x 29.3 Ghz 6 core Intel Xeon PT 2019.10. Mac OS 10.12.6. and 10.14 RME UFX and a bunch of other nice stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2011, 11:57 AM
RTFM RTFM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 147
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Have you tried reinstalling Ozone? Or testing from a new admin account? Sometimes doing that will allow it to work in your original account.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2011, 12:26 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,656
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTFM View Post
Have you tried reinstalling Ozone? Or testing from a new admin account? Sometimes doing that will allow it to work in your original account.
Hi,

Yes i'll try that.

Izotope sent me a new build yesterday which helps a bit as i doesn't crash, but it still stops at the auth screen for Ozone, although i have 5 days remaining on the demo i press continue and everything just stop responding.

Repair disk permissions and it works till the next computer boot.


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2013, 06:14 PM
IO Composer IO Composer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 676
Default Re: Strange disk permission crash with Ozone 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Izotope sent me a new build yesterday which helps a bit as i doesn't crash, but it still stops at the auth screen for Ozone, although i have 5 days remaining on the demo i press continue and everything just stop responding.

Repair disk permissions and it works till the next computer boot.
Hi Chris.
Did you ever resolve this? I'm trying to run the Ozone5 demo and it's crashing every time I try to close a session or remove the plugin from an insert.
__________________
Jamey Scott
Dramatic Audio Post, Inc.
Burbank, CA
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9.0.6 crash with Ozone 4...? leononeill macOS 5 12-30-2011 09:30 AM
When updating to 8.03 ask for strange permission Energie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-22-2009 10:57 PM
Pro Tools 8 & Disk Permission errors edb200 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-25-2009 09:04 PM
Disk Permission problem ndlsd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-20-2006 05:03 PM
Strange Disk Crash Any Ideas Anyone? John Andrew Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-16-2002 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com