Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-25-2019, 06:14 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 650
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clancychris View Post
What interface are you using?

For years I've been using an Apogee Symphony through a PCIe card. Never get errors.

I bought an Apollo firewire quad and after 30% CPU usage sessions were barely workable.

I know firewire is outdated but just putting it out there that it was an interface issue with me
I remember when I had the 002R via firewire. It was a nightmare
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 11.3.2 on OSX 10.10.5 - PT Ultimate 2019.6 on OSX 10.13.6 (II partition) - Cubase Pro 10 - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-25-2019, 08:43 AM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 491
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

I’ve had a much more stable machine (5,1 12 core 3.46ghz) since upgrading to Mojave and 2019.5, but I did notice that certain patches in SampleTank 4 would kick up some of those interchangeable errors and CPU spikes. When I unloaded those patches the error went away. Running my samples off an SSD drive btw.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-25-2019, 08:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
I remember when I had the 002R via firewire. It was a nightmare
Back in 2002 I remember it was a godsend
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-25-2019, 12:09 PM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 167
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

Same. I have an 8-core Trashcan with 64GB RAM. I have a 32GB disc cache setup. My small projects can still generate a -9173 error. As others have noted - it usually only happens once (for the day/session).
Annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-25-2019, 01:36 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 360
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

12 core Tcan... errors at 25 %.. Kontakt is an industry standard..
also
I wonder if 200 per Year will allow sessions to Open with the Inst mapped they way they were..? is that a bonus feature ofr ...hmmm bug
Stiill see greyed or miss mapped VIs when reopening


Is this rocketry science.. or should I pay 10x more for these BASIC functions AssVid.
15 days b4 you anounnce a 101% price increase?>.. for a finicky SW errors at 20-30 % cpu??
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-27-2019, 05:15 PM
East Sider East Sider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

I get the -9173 error and have no mix buses or plugins activated. I have 1 track and as soon as I hit play the error pops up. No updates or anything but my system worked yesterday and today it doesn't, Just that constant error
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-28-2019, 02:30 PM
East Sider East Sider is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: 9173 error still/trash can, 35%cpu or less?

I figured out that the settings in my sound card somehow changed and once I corrected it, it was fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE error -9173 with Pro Tools 2018.12 on macOS 10.14 Mojave ramonetl Pro Tools 2018 17 04-19-2019 09:44 AM
VCA Function That Raises Some And Lowers Others? NateAlexander Tips & Tricks 11 02-06-2019 06:05 PM
1st Mojave error mspin macOS 14 11-21-2018 06:15 AM
Avid to drop prices on products!? M-ManLA General Discussion 17 08-31-2011 12:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com