Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2011, 03:56 PM
1rons 1rons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 16
Default HD|Native I/O Suggestions?

I like the idea of the Omni interface, but I need more mic pres. Any suggestions about what to buy to get (at least) 8 mic pres, monitoring control, etc. in/out of the Native PCI card?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:48 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,778
Default Re: HD|Native I/O Suggestions?

If you want to use the HD Native card with non Avid interfaces, your choices will be very limited, and those choices will mainly be converters only. A few that come to mind are Apogee Symphony IO, AD16x, and Rosetta series, or the Lynx Aurora, or the Mytek 8 x 192. Basically these are some of the few converters that have adapters to hook up to any kind of HD card. You would then need to get your preamps separately.

You might do better to get the HD I/O, and then something like the Focusrite ISA 828 (for 8 preamps) and the Dangerous Dbox for monitoring.

Keep in mind that you could also add some stuff to the Omni. You have the 2 built in preamps, and you could get 2 more for the other 2 analog ins. Then you could get a 4 channel preamp with a/d conversion to go into the adat in. A couple of examples would be the Focusrite 428 with a/d card option, or the Universal Audio 4-710d (with built in a/d conversion).

It might be cheaper to do that, and use the monitoring control of the Omni, then to do the first suggestion with the HD IO and buying everything separately.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-08-2011, 11:26 AM
ronstephens ronstephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 221
Default Re: HD|Native I/O Suggestions?

Thanks. That's just the kind of info I need.

With my 002r I can connect 8 mic pres via analog, and 8 more via ADAT LightPipe (plus 2 more via SPDF). I don't know if the step up in quality re. HD|Native is worth the step backwards to 12 input max with an 8x8x8. If Digi (excuse me - Avid)had just put 8 analog ins, instead of 4, on the OMNI, I'd be all set.
__________________
Ron Stephens <>X
ron@stephensfam.net
MacPro3,1 (early 2008, Harpertown) Dual Quad 3G w/24GB RAM, macOS 10.11.6, Pro Tools 11.3.2 HD, Native HD PCIe, Omni.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 09:48 AM
FLUX Elixier V3 AAX Native & DSP + Freeware Bittersweet V3 AAX Native & DSP released psmworld AAX Plug-ins 18 01-31-2013 05:16 PM
Tracking with AAX-DSP or with Native (RTAS or AAX-Native) Plug-ins Oblivion777 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 05-18-2012 04:54 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com