Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Old 01-20-2009, 07:10 AM

Question Sample rate setting on hardware gets forced to 44.1 by PT8

Hi all,

I must be missing something out somewhere and I just can't find it.
I've got this M-Audio ProjectMix IO and found out this weirdness today.
In the Control Panel I have set the sample rate towards 48KHz. Then I booted PT8 and wanted to start a new blank session...but I was only able to select 44.1KHz ??!! I was like ...huh?? I just have set it to 48?? So, not closing anything, went back to the control panel and.....you guessed right... the sample rate was switched back to 44.1KHz !!

Now I'm fairly new to everything but I'm deffinite I could set my PT sessions to 48KHz before when using PT7.4. ProjectMix IO can be even set to 96Khz, not that I can do that with M-Powered of course.

I've been looking all over in the preferences etc but cant seem to find the cause.

Anyone ideas ?

thanks, Luc

PS: may be worth mentioning this. Before I found this issue, I applied the cs1 this morning
Old 01-20-2009, 08:14 AM

Default Re: Sample rate setting on hardware gets forced to 44.1 by PT8

Update......

Ok...Its not PT8 that is forcing the sample rate of my FireWire ProjectMix IO to go back to 44.1Khz but something within my Windows environment I'm affraid. Clicking on a link in IE what gives a 'click' sound by Windows is already enough to see the change from 48Khz to 44.1KHz happening.