Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2002, 10:44 PM
synthetic synthetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Pasadena, CA, USA
Posts: 57
Default Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

I have read a few posts which claim that a Firewire DV box is the way to go for video in and out of Pro Tools, rather than the Aurora Fuse. So which model is everyone using, and what did it cost? I've never even seen one of these boxes.

Thanks, -jl
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2002, 11:08 PM
SOR SOR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lititz, Pa usa
Posts: 45
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

synthetic ,

i been using my Sony DV camera and Echowire Drivers and it works great .. i know they are a few boxes out , but a Sony box comes to mind first.. i forget the Model # .. anyway do a search on the DUC and you will find plenty of postings on this issue...

Adam
StudioOne Recording
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2002, 12:35 AM
synthetic synthetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Pasadena, CA, USA
Posts: 57
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

I just did another search and it looks like this question gets asked every month. Sorry for the wasted bandwidth. One specific question, what is the model number of the Sony DV bridge? Their website is worthless. Thanks, -jl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2002, 05:54 AM
PlanB PlanB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Belgium & Austin, Tx
Posts: 166
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

Hi Synthetic,

If you are using a HD system, it might be worth to read this: ProTools 5.3.1
The 5.3.1 version will support Quicktime output via Firewire, so there will be no need for the Echofire drivers.
My only question: from what I see, this will be only for HD Mac. How about Mac Mix users? Will they get this functionality too in a coming release?

I installed the Formac Studio DV for several clients with great success. It might be a valid alternative to the Sony.

Cheers
Arthur
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2002, 11:23 AM
One Track Music One Track Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 387
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

Hi - so far Digi is supporting the Canopus box, which looks like a good one from the specs, but I'm sure other one's will be fine.
__________________
www.joeldouek.com
"Show me your Pasodoble!"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2002, 02:57 PM
Bryan Bryan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 474
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

plan B:

we've been able to get the sony dmc da2's working okay, but since they aren't readily available anymore we bought some formac's. they worked at first, but now they are sketchy. the one i was using would playback previously captured movies okay, but now everything it captures plays back too fast. like, almost twice as fast. ever heard of this?

otherwise, i agree, dv out firewire seems to tax protools less than miro or aurora.

br
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2002, 05:17 PM
PlanB PlanB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Belgium & Austin, Tx
Posts: 166
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

Hi Bryan,

No I've never heard about this problem. Thanks for the heads-up, though. I'll call my clients and verify if they ever had the speed-thing.

Cheers
Arthur
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2002, 08:54 AM
littlerobot littlerobot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 45
Default Re: Suggested Firewire/DV I/O?

Check http://www.promax.com for the DA Max and also http://www.miglia.com/ for the Director's Cut 2.
Jason
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DUC suggested PC setup pipelineaudio73 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 18 05-14-2005 08:21 PM
suggested plug-ins bigd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 06-29-2004 07:31 AM
Suggested improvement for DUC Philthy General Discussion 33 01-24-2003 09:39 AM
Suggested settings for G4/533 syMPh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-14-2001 07:29 AM
Suggested PC for Digi 001 mswift 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-30-2001 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com