Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2003, 10:30 PM
Cali Hendrixx Cali Hendrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 148
Default anybody got a mackie 1202-vlz board and up i have a ?

Ok i have a mackie 12o2 mixing board and i got some cool monitors for it........well i dont have a sound proof studio so for me to record and not get feed back from the monitors i have to cut off my monitors. The way i have my monitors set up on the board when i push the Main Mix button in that lets me hear the mix but when i push it out speaks dont work any more...not a problem the problem is that sinces the board has two vol knobs (control room/phones)(main mix) so when i push that buttom out im also not able to hear anything with my head phones....what i want to be able to do is have what ever button it is to be able to make my speakers cut off but i can stillhear myself in the head phones...do you have a set up that works
__________________
Hey man im just tring to get a grip on this stuff!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2003, 12:57 AM
drunton drunton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 244
Default Re: anybody got a mackie 1202-vlz board and up i have a ?

I know what you are talking about. I went through several "small boards" before spending the money on the 1202 for this reason alone.

Check the manual. There is a modification you can make that will allow you to what you want.

After the mod (add 2 wires, cut 2 jumpers) I have the headphones controlled by one of the volume controls and the speakers controlled by the other. This allows me to have the phones at a comfortable level all of the time and the speakers can be turned up just for certain things.

If you can't solder, find a friend who will do it for you. Again, not very difficult if you are at all electronically inclined. Although, I must admit taking a soldering iron and an X-acto blade to my brand new 1202 was a bit gut-wrenching.

Good luck, Dave!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2003, 10:49 AM
Cali Hendrixx Cali Hendrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 148
Default Re: anybody got a mackie 1202-vlz board and up i have a ?

That sounds good but im not gona try that cause i might mess my stuff up...ill just feel better cutting my speakers on and of just to be safe....if i knew you i would let you do it before i would even think about doing it myself...
__________________
Hey man im just tring to get a grip on this stuff!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2003, 11:16 PM
drunton drunton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Posts: 244
Default Re: anybody got a mackie 1202-vlz board and up i have a ?

I don't know where you are located, but I am in the Phoenix area. If you are there, I can help you out. If not, there should be some local music store that can help you. Try and find a store other than Guitar Center, maybe a small one with a little shop in the back. Maybe it will cost you $40 or so.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT - Mackie 1202-VLZ 12 Mixer and PT LE superpenguin79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 08-19-2004 01:37 PM
24 Mix Plus Monitoring with Mackie 1202-VLZ rmeuchel Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-09-2004 05:25 AM
Mackie 1202 VLZ and recording stereo TrippSTRAT 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-24-2003 12:48 PM
Mackie 1202 j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 01-21-2003 08:12 PM
Anyone using Mackie 1202 mixer? H-man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-21-2002 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com