Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2020, 06:14 PM
dazjay dazjay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Tumut NSW Australia
Posts: 14
Default Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Hi all
I have Protools 2018 v4.0 using on a PC with intel i5, 64 bit OS and Windows 10. Have had no problems since installing over 2 years ago but yesterday I tried to open and it now freezes at "initializing audio engine" every time I try to open it, even though I was still accessing it as of yesterday morning but now something is keeping me out. I have read threads about "trashing Protools Preferences" and then re opening Protools. Does this work? If so, will I still have all my song files saved or will they be deleted? What about plug ins? I just want some confirmation or reassurance that this works, I can't afford to lose years of music. Any other suggestions as to how to fix this?
Cheers
Daz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2020, 06:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Did anything change?

Are Windows automatic updates disabled?

What playback engine do you expect Pro Tools to use?

Hold down the 'N' key while Pro Tools is starting and hold it down until the playback engine dialog appears. Then select that playback engine you want

If doing that does not get to the playback engine dialog panel then try trashing prefs (see "help us help you"), always the first step of real troubleshooting.

You really should be stepping through fairly standard troubleshooting before posting here and if still stuck let us know exactly what you did/what is still not working. Start at "help us help you" up the top of each DUC web page.

And to split hairs, but to help you be clear to others in future, it's Pro Tools 2018.4, meaning it was released in April of 2018 it's not "v4", there was no "v1" no "v5" etc. For 2018 there was 2018.1, 2018.3, 2018.4, 2018.7, 2018.10, 2018.12. A busy year of releases.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2020, 08:10 PM
dazjay dazjay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Tumut NSW Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Thanks for taking the time to reply Darryl,
My playback engine is set to my Avid Fast Track Duo, checked that by pressing n on start up.
As for the other steps, I guess I'll check out the "help us help you" for more info as suggested.
Cheers
Daz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2020, 08:45 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

OK well the quick thing was not the problem.

You should follow the directions for trashing prefs. Make sure to follow directions for your version or Pro Tools. You should learn how to do it all by hand first... but if you end up doing a lot with Pro Tools, it's better to purchase the Trasher utility to do the same thing more easily https://www.pro-tools-pc.us/category-s/1514.htm

Some guidance to help you navigate other stuff (but have a good read of all the troubleshooting and optimization doc):

What is showing on the splash screen just before Pro Tools has the problem... any messages about plugins loading? (if so the you need to move all the .aaxplugin files out of the plugin folder C:\Program Files\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins just move them to the (Unused) Folder, trash prefs again, and restart Pro Tools... does it start up now?)

You can try checking if any other apps can work with that interface OK, ideally apps that use ASIO. -- But when trying to use Pro Tools make sure all other apps and Windows itself are *NOT* using that device.

Ideally you are trying to open Pro Tools itself directly and not open a session.

Make sure the system is fully optimized, especially Pro Tools set to run as administrator.

You can try creating an new admin user and test running Pro Tools from that account.

If all that fails then try uninstalling and reinstall Pro Tools.

If all that fails you might be reinstalling Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2020, 11:37 PM
dazjay dazjay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Tumut NSW Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Ok, a lot there to digest. I'll work through it. There's no message about plug ins on the screen, just "initializing audio engine"
Thanks again Darryl

Last edited by dazjay; 08-10-2020 at 12:23 AM. Reason: Added to message
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2020, 07:38 PM
dazjay dazjay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Tumut NSW Australia
Posts: 14
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Ok, trashing preferences did work. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2020, 10:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default Re: Initializing audio engine freeze on start up

Coool. Thanks for letting us know that worked for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initializing Audio Engine - SopisticatedBear Pro Tools 12 5 05-02-2017 10:54 AM
Pro Tools 12, initializing audio engine rhumphries Pro Tools 12 3 03-15-2016 10:44 AM
Freeze at Initializing Audio Engine maunaloa Windows 0 04-14-2015 05:42 PM
STUCK on Initializing Audio Engine piano686 Pro Tools 11 1 03-02-2015 03:11 AM
Help Freeze on "Initializing audio engine" jeml Pro Tools 11 1 03-07-2014 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com