Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2018, 08:25 AM
speak.sigma's Avatar
speak.sigma speak.sigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: london,canaries
Posts: 6
Default (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Hi all. First post but been reading this place for some times(years).

Could anyone please tell me if the following is possible??

My problem/standing.
I'm slicing drum-loops.
I've imported a drum loop. Used strip silence. Now I have 9 different regions sliced and I wish to bounce those regions with FX(specifically Slate VTM only).

I've noticed that with Tape-emulation plugins and millisecond audio if simply select an audio region and bounce to disk the resulting audio file has a CLICK @beginning and end. Inorder to not have clicks I have to manually select the region with approx. 3-4milisecond before it's start and its end. (Time for tape to initialize)

My question;
Is there a way/some place in settings to specify the BEGINNING-END of selected audio regions? So when I select a region it automatically gives it a Head-start(150millisecond) before it's true beginning and 150millisecond After it's true end.

Mucho Gracias!!
Ps-is anyone NOT experiencing this "tape" behaviour??

Last edited by speak.sigma; 02-23-2018 at 03:00 AM. Reason: Extra info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2018, 02:58 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Have you considered Audiosuite processing instead of bouncing? Latency of the plugins might be the cause of your problem, and audiosuite'ing and exporting the clips might work.

Edit: I'm not aware of any solutions that directly answers your specific question.
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2018, 02:57 AM
speak.sigma's Avatar
speak.sigma speak.sigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: london,canaries
Posts: 6
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Have you considered Audiosuite processing instead of bouncing? Latency of the plugins might be the cause of your problem, and audiosuite'ing and exporting the clips might work.
Hi Ben. Tried it. No luck same thing.
My CPU peaks @25max ATM and memory stays around 14%, so i really doubt that it's a latency thing.
My buffer is maxxed out(1024).
Other third party plugins work fine/don't produce any artifacts.

It's specifically Tape-emulation plugins.
This is either my system solo. Or just the way tape plugins are designed (I'm leaning alot more on this second thought).

Is no one experiencing CLICKS @beginning and end of short audio files less than 1 second long(130-400 millisecond)? Post bounce/export??

The PT project is 16bit 44.1.
I've also tried 24bit session. With and without dither.
No luck.
__________________
PT 11.2.2.
MBP - 2.3GHz i7, 16GB1600Mhz DDR3, hd1=SSD500gb, hd2= Thunderbolt Samsung SpinPoint M9T - MacOS Sierra 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2018, 04:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,170
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

The type of plugin in use doesn't make a difference. What does is where on the waveform the selection is made. For click-free work you need to make sure the selection starts and ends at zero crossings.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2018, 06:35 AM
speak.sigma's Avatar
speak.sigma speak.sigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: london,canaries
Posts: 6
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The type of plugin in use doesn't make a difference. What does is where on the waveform the selection is made. For click-free work you need to make sure the selection starts and ends at zero crossings.
No this is not the case.
Again; it only happens with tape emulation.
Ps. I read that PT does not have zero-crossing setting.
__________________
PT 11.2.2.
MBP - 2.3GHz i7, 16GB1600Mhz DDR3, hd1=SSD500gb, hd2= Thunderbolt Samsung SpinPoint M9T - MacOS Sierra 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2018, 07:30 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,425
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Just tested with Softube Tape. No issues here.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2018, 09:43 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,170
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by speak.sigma View Post
No this is not the case.
Again; it only happens with tape emulation.
Ps. I read that PT does not have zero-crossing setting.
You're wrong - the plugin has NO bearing in this case. That it only happens for you with a tape emulation is a fluke at best.

There is no such thing as a zero crossing setting (as you've discovered) when splitting a waveform - you have to adjust that yourself.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-23-2018, 05:34 PM
speak.sigma's Avatar
speak.sigma speak.sigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: london,canaries
Posts: 6
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stig Eliassen View Post
Just tested with Softube Tape. No issues here.
Hmm. Can I ask are your specs exactly like mine? pT11.2.2, MacOS Sierra 10.12.6?? On Mac builtIn audio, not running 3rd party audio interface?

Any chance you could be so kind to test with Slate VTM, the reelBus, kramerTape or reelADT? I don't have softube tape. Do t really want to get it.(little bandwidth on my mobile connection as is), im up high in the mountains))

I uploaded a BD (clean, kramer,reelADT,tbReelBus,vtm) as what happens post bounce on my system.
https://www.mediafire.com/file/4cma5...2BTapeEMUS.zip

Would be interesting to find out.
Edit;
"bd_clean.wav & bd_tbReelBus.wav" the only ones with no clicks.
"bd_vtm.wav" Is the only with a CLICK @the start &end, others only feature click @the end

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
You're wrong - the plugin has NO bearing in this case. That it only happens for you with a tape emulation is a fluke at best.

There is no such thing as a zero crossing setting (as you've discovered) when splitting a waveform - you have to adjust that yourself.
Hopp back in your Box Jack, will ya?
Nobody is wrong, sometimes ppl might be incorrect.
Why are you so adomant on being Wright? Have you come to my castle and tested my system?
Your tone an structure of words is quite debilitating for your own self.
I really don't like negative ppl like you. Why don't you just hit the bricks B? Will ya?)
__________________
PT 11.2.2.
MBP - 2.3GHz i7, 16GB1600Mhz DDR3, hd1=SSD500gb, hd2= Thunderbolt Samsung SpinPoint M9T - MacOS Sierra 10.12.6

Last edited by speak.sigma; 02-23-2018 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Extra info
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-23-2018, 06:10 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

That does sound like it's not supposed to.
Can't really hear anything at the start, but the end is obvious.

Are you using bounce realtime or offline, or recording to track? Using send?

Oh, and never mind Jack. He has his ways. I've learned to live with that.

One of the good things about the DUC is it's grown to be a forum with a lot of different characters, with personalities, who has learned to tolerate eachothers different idiosyncrasies... Oh forget it.
__________________
Signature...? – I think my face and full name is more than enough.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-23-2018, 07:02 PM
speak.sigma's Avatar
speak.sigma speak.sigma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: london,canaries
Posts: 6
Default Re: (custom) Region playback Head-start/end settings??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
That does sound like it's not supposed to.
Can't really hear anything at the start, but the end is obvious.

Are you using bounce realtime or offline, or recording to track? Using send?

Oh, and never mind Jack. He has his ways. I've learned to live with that.

One of the good things about the DUC is it's grown to be a forum with a lot of different characters, with personalities, who has learned to tolerate eachothers different idiosyncrasies... Oh forget it.
I couldn't hear the CLICK@the start either untill I took out the CLICK@the end(on vtm).

Tried realtime & offline, no difference.
I am bussing to another track(but that track is empty in terms of plugins). I haven't tried without buss. Honestly I tried so much.....I lost myself in the mist of it all. I'm half dead ATM , will try it first thing tommorow. Also haven't tried recording to track but will do in the morning.

Do you have any of my Tape plugins? And if so, could you be so kind to run the "bd_clean" through them? (All presets are defaults)

Regarding Jack; haha lol! Thanks for the Kudos! Cracked me up! Ppl like that make me tick!)
__________________
PT 11.2.2.
MBP - 2.3GHz i7, 16GB1600Mhz DDR3, hd1=SSD500gb, hd2= Thunderbolt Samsung SpinPoint M9T - MacOS Sierra 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Let's start this new forum with a head count ghostwriter Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 50 05-07-2012 05:35 PM
Bug - playback head gets stuck when zooming during playback atucker Pro Tools Software (Mac) 0 01-18-2011 02:55 PM
setting for play head, return to start? T.Glaze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-02-2010 08:32 AM
7.2 cut head on an audio region with a fade bug Brandonx1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 5 09-20-2006 01:12 PM
Arrow head in a region? Rail Jon Rogut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-22-2002 12:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com