Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2011, 10:17 PM
edy edy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney, canada
Posts: 5
Default Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

I purchased the crossgrade package and I am wondering if I will have problems installing it on two machines in my house? To be more specific, with avid letting me install off the same disc or download more then once.

Ed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2011, 10:26 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

You can install Pro Tools on as many platforms as you like however to open Pro Tools on one of those systems Pro Tools requires an iLok USB Authorization Key.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2011, 07:29 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

Let me add that the iLok has to have a Pro Tools license on it...

This guy sounds smarter than that, but there are probably people out there who would just buy another iLok and expect it to work...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2011, 12:20 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,113
Talking Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
Let me add that the iLok has to have a Pro Tools license on it...

This guy sounds smarter than that, but there are probably people out there who would just buy another iLok and expect it to work...
Well Bill, since the question was about a Pro Tools 9 crossgrade don't you think you should be a little more specific? Not just any Pro Tools license will do. It must be a Pro Tools 9 license.

Since we're stating the plainly obvious here...
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2020.5.0 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:26 AM
MKZ MKZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

Hey I've got a question about the Pro Tools 9 upgrade package.

I'm getting mine today. If the box comes with a version lower than 9.0.3 how should I go about installing? (Snow Leopard)
I'm guessing the 9.0.3 I'll get from Avid's website will just be an update which I can install on top of what ever earlier PT9 full install I have installed.
So, install what ever version of 9 is in the box and then download the 9.0.3 update?

EDIT: I picked up the box and I used the activation code and I'm in the process of transferring the license to my iLok, but Avid shows me all this stuff I can download with the new license. There's a full install download for PT 9.0.2. (No 9.0.3)

Should I just download that and install that instead of the 9.0 that came in the box?

What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2011, 02:26 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

As Pro Tools 9 is Snow Leopard compatible throughout there will be no issue installing 9.0 and updating to 9.0.3.

You could download 9.0.2 but given the size of the installers, the DVD method followed by the 9.0.3 update will likely be quicker, it's also not uncommon for those huge installers to crap out and throw up any number of errors. Either way will not hurt but the DVD would be my choice.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011, 03:04 AM
MKZ MKZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

Alright, thanks Dougfather
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2011, 04:04 AM
MKZ MKZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Crossgrade package for pro tools 9

Hey should I install the driver disc just in case, although I'm not necessarily planning on using Avid or M-audio hardware?

EDIT: I put in the Drivers Disc and noticed they were all hardware specific, so that was a dumb questions. (I just thought maybe there's some kind of an overall driver pro tools needs to see on the mac to get it to even function with the Mac's own "sound card")

I haven't had a chance to do much testing but 9.0 seems to run Ok. I also haven't run any updates yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant Install Pro Tools 8LE from software package liamMo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-29-2012 06:08 AM
crossgrade package edy Pro Tools 9 6 08-23-2011 05:24 PM
What is included in the crossgrade package? Jantzen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-12-2009 08:23 PM
Pro-Tools 8, 7.4 update package Matt Darcy General Discussion 7 10-23-2008 09:43 AM
Pro Tools LE and Roland studio Package Pro soundman_28544 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-19-2002 05:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com