Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:10 AM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 358
Default "Pro Tools would like to access the microphone" when launching

Why does PT need access to my microphone? Mav iMac. Weird Mac anomaly, or PT wants to know what I really think?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:13 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Griffin View Post
Why does PT need access to my microphone? Mav iMac. Weird Mac anomaly, or PT wants to know what I really think?
This is an Apple security requirement.

https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-...hla1b1e1fe/mac
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:19 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,851
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup

What does ”mav” iMac mean?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:21 AM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 358
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup

SORRY. Mojave!!!!!!!! Not Mav. I figured it was an Apple security issue, but I've never seen it with any other audio app.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,851
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Griffin View Post
SORRY. Mojave!!!!!!!! Not Mav. I figured it was an Apple security issue, but I've never seen it with any other audio app.
Aha All Good! It is as Drew said an Apple thing and in order to use the inputs of the interface that needs to be allowed so nothing strange as we all done it
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2019, 11:37 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,339
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup

Right, new to Mojave, Apple is using microphone as a generic term for all inputs. See the Mac Read Me (in your account or linked here) for this info, and we'll update this KB article with more info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2019, 03:23 PM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 358
Default Re: Odd Message On Startup (...would like to access the microphone)

OK, Thanks. The Read Me Doc hadn't been posted when I downloaded from my account page. It there now. In its place was a WIN doc. Odd.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:50 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,779
Default 2019.5 won't stop asking for access to my microphone

Each time I launch PT, it gives a message stating that PT is trying to access my Mac's internal mic, and it send me to the Privacy control panel in order to grant access to ProTools (which I do but it never helps). First, how do I stop PT from even trying to use the mic, and second, I've granted access to ProTools so it can control my Mac, but it doesn't seem to stick. Anyone else having this issue? I've checked the General tab in Privacy and it's not asking to download any updates (that can sometimes be the problem when Privacy settings don't stick).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:53 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: 2019.5 won't stop asking for access to my microphone

you need to give access to the "mic" in order for PT to have access to the inputs on your interface.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2019, 09:06 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,413
Default Re: 2019.5 won't stop asking for access to my microphone

See the first page of the 2019.5 Readme for Mac. Do exactly what it says there. If different describe exactly what is happening.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools SE Microphone Timberwolf Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 3 11-14-2017 05:50 PM
PT11 not launching. Access Privileges problem MatthewM Pro Tools 11 0 10-16-2014 02:33 PM
Pro Tools SE Microphone set up UnionPacific7004 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 2 07-21-2013 12:02 PM
Launching Pro Tools:Access violation and SynthCore error Coolin' 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-24-2002 04:30 PM
Access Violation upon launching PTLE 5.1.1 - WinME MaizeBass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 10-03-2001 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com