Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2019, 11:57 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 953
Default What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Hi,

Looks like it might be time to replace my beloved Mbox 3. What do y'all recommend for a 2x2 interface that sounds as good as the Mbox 3 did? Apogee Duet? RME Babyface Pro?

ps I just realized this is in the wrong forum category......
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6

Last edited by Will Russell; 09-29-2019 at 01:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2019, 12:01 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

I can vouch for the Babyface Pro. Their drivers and software are top notch, as are the preamps and converters.
Plus as bonus feature - your Mac keyboard volume up+down works with them if you use it as your output device. That can't be said for most other interfaces.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2019, 12:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,824
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Focusrite Clarett 2PRE
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2019, 12:21 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,397
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

... all good choices, I would add the UAD Apollo Twin to the list.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-29-2019, 03:58 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
... all good choices, I would add the UAD Apollo Twin to the list.
Another good choice, but this bears some extra info. IF(the big "IF") you want/need to track with UA plugins, Apollo is the ONLY good option. Every other brand of hardware will not allow tracking thru UA plugins because of latency(on my HD/Native rig, every UA plugin reported at least 1100+ samples of latency). Much as I love the sound of their stuff, I wasn't going to dump the HDN hardware(way too much investment) Apollo is still a great choice for use without UA plugins while tracking(and that would allow you to work in PT's screen and not within the UA mixer screen). Just want you to understand the nuts and bolts of all this
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-29-2019, 05:00 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 953
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
......Just want you to understand the nuts and bolts of all this
Hi Dave,

Thanks for taking the time for the heads up about the "complications" with UAD stuff. Thankfully I'm aware of what you warned me about and have so far avoided UAD stuff (despite their reputation for top quality plugins) because I want to live exclusively in ProTools world. (FYI- my primary rig is a full blown HDX rig)

The interface I'm looking for would be on my "B" rig which I record through occasionally but mostly use to provide quality conversion and output to my monitors and headphones. So recording latency is not a big concern for me with this interface.

I'm guessing it would be a waste to buy the Apollo interface if I had no intention of using UAD plugins?
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2019, 05:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,397
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

I would not consider the UAD interfaces a waste if you did not use their plugins. Although the temptation is always there... and UAD is not dumb.., that’s how they make money...

The Twin is very nice, just sounds nice. They have pretty good drivers and seem to provide good support. And in a larger setup the twin can be chained with larger Apollo’s and act as a monitor controller ... a feature I really like.

There are lots of great interfaces in that ~$1k - few $k.

And since you mentioned mostly playback and headphones. I will mention my favorite small ‘playback only’ interface... a Grace m920. Just sounds great. Sadly discontinued, the headphone crossfeed Esp. on that made it a nice flexible box for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2019, 05:28 PM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 156
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
Hi,

Looks like it might be time to replace my beloved Mbox 3. What do y'all recommend for a 2x2 interface that sounds as good as the Mbox 3 did? Apogee Duet? RME Babyface Pro?

ps I just realized this is in the wrong forum category......
Apogee Element 24 or Element 46. Excellent product. Superb software. Reasonably priced.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2019, 06:37 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 953
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdelsolray View Post
Apogee Element 24 or Element 46. Excellent product. Superb software. Reasonably priced.
That Apogee looks amazing but I need a physical knob which is another $200. Also way more function than I need.
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2019, 10:11 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: What would you replace your Mbox 3 with?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Russell View Post
That Apogee looks amazing but I need a physical knob which is another $200. Also way more function than I need.
Those smaller Apollo units are still worth a long look. Also, RME has been one of the best for solid drivers(and their audio quality is up there with the best)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can mbox 2 replace mbox micro? angelo panetta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 01-06-2010 12:18 PM
What should I replace my original Mbox with? danackerman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-02-2010 03:38 PM
Does Mbox replace soundcard? oldprof General Discussion 3 02-13-2007 11:33 PM
Possible to replace the Mbox with other interface? Robert Mattsson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-06-2005 12:14 PM
Mbox & Tibook to replace AM3?? John J. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2002 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com