Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2006, 03:37 AM
fman fman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 182
Default Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.2!!!

Well that's probably the 5th i've had today. Once was after i duplicated a track. Most are when the session is full to the brim with plugins and it needs to shuffle. I just tried to instantiate the Oxford TransMod and i get a -7024 error, then BAM, crash.

Timeblender also freezes the system when a shuffle gets to it.

Almost all RTAS plugs on Aux's block audio after a shuffle too. They need to be inactivated and then re-activated to work. That is a PITA when you've got ****loads going on.

C'mon DIGI. Its still the same old problem of using multiple processors in the Quad G5, with RTAS, right??

Please do something about it, its killing my workflow.

fman

PT 7.2 HD3, Quad G5, 4.5Gb mem, lots of plugs etc etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:17 PM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.

i have to say here . . .

i have already updated my website to say i have 7.2 but i'm afraid to put down my $199

no cs yet.... for 7.2....everybody's screaming in here

i'm just not in beta test mode right now

7.1cs9 is what i'm using and it's shakey enough

come on guys...back off of the midi implementation development and get the prime software stable please

we already have midi rigs that will work around what you never gave us soon enough for our workloads
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2006, 12:25 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,622
Default Re: Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.2!!!

Quote:
Well that's probably the 5th i've had today. Once was after i duplicated a track. Most are when the session is full to the brim with plugins and it needs to shuffle. I just tried to instantiate the Oxford TransMod and i get a -7024 error, then BAM, crash.

Timeblender also freezes the system when a shuffle gets to it.

Almost all RTAS plugs on Aux's block audio after a shuffle too. They need to be inactivated and then re-activated to work. That is a PITA when you've got ****loads going on.

C'mon DIGI. Its still the same old problem of using multiple processors in the Quad G5, with RTAS, right??

Please do something about it, its killing my workflow.

fman

PT 7.2 HD3, Quad G5, 4.5Gb mem, lots of plugs etc etc.
Have you absolutely, positively verified that all installed plug-ins are Pro Tools 7 compatible?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2006, 01:30 PM
aux aux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 425
Default Re: Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.2!!!

Same here, in both studios:

- strange delay when switching buffersize to 128
- crash when switching playlist in some circumstances
- save error when drag/dropping files from finder and workspace
- long spinnng beach ball when importing audio through menu (time to get coffee)
__________________
Aux

MassiveMusic

SOS article
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:08 PM
fman fman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 182
Default Re: Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.2!!!

Quote:


Have you absolutely, positively verified that all installed plug-ins are Pro Tools 7 compatible?
Absolutely. I purchase the system as 7.1, only 4 months ago. I have downloaded every single plugin from the appropriate manufacturers website - all indicate they are PT7 compatible. I am forced to use HW buffer size 512, due to the Altiverb bug, but most of these problems were occuring with 7.1 anyway. I always use Long ADC. Running MacOS 10.4.5.

I'm using Waves Diamond, SSL, Eventide Anthology II, MCDsp Everything, SoundToys Everything, Oxford everything, HD3 pack, Altiverb, BFD, T-Racks, Amplitube LE & 2.

Altiverb and Soundtoys are usual culprits for blocking audio when i use them as RTAS inserts on Auxillaries, after a shuffle. And plugin shuffle freezes (spinning beachball) on Timeblender in a large session.

Still get the bug where something ?? happens and i'm unable to use the alphabet keys. I can continue working as long as i dont try to enter a name of a track. I can play, cant remember if the quickkeys still function, but the A-z keys still work outside of Protools. Protools quits if i use the keyboard to type letters into a track name.

i'm sure its all Quad G5 related. This has been brought up before http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...=&fpart=1&vc=1

fman
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:11 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,778
Default Re: Still getting at least 3 crashes per day on 7.

Isn't OS 10.4.7 recommended for PT 7.2?

FWIW, I'm getting many crashes every day also and I just upgraded to 7.2 a couple days ago. Many new features but it's been a bitch so far.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 8.1 crashes TAFE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 11-08-2009 07:59 AM
7.4 crashes manbeargun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-15-2008 01:13 PM
G5 crashes CKoszuta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-19-2004 10:08 PM
m box crashes johnny5isalive 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-06-2004 09:51 AM
G4/733 & MTP USB Crashes SOR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-04-2001 06:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com