Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2006, 12:28 PM
CD Productions CD Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: L.A.
Posts: 339
Default play delay when using mojo?

Using a G4 DP 1.25Ghz, 2GB RAM OS 10.3.9 PT6.9.1, I have noticed an almost 2 sec lag between hitting play and the program actually playing. Is this common? Is the computer just too slow for this setup?
__________________
Charles Dayton, CAS
Twisted Avocado Post Audio
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0206743/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2006, 01:59 PM
pat yacono pat yacono is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 189
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

I have no delay with the mojo on a dual g5 2.0 with 2.5 gigs of ram. I have heard people having this problem, but I have not experienced it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:03 PM
1150Post 1150Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 431
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

Nothing even close to that here... Actually, pretty darn zippy. Better than the AVXL on a G4 933 (or something like that) mhz HD 3 in another suite here.

G5 DP 2.0, 2 Gig Ram, HD3 in a Digi 13 Slot PCI Expansion Chassis, UL3D in the Mac with 3xSCSI 36Gig Sound Drives, 3x FW 150Gig for SFX library on Pyro card in the Mac, 2nd internal SATA Drive for Video playback...
__________________
Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:39 PM
Mario C Mario C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 325
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

Have you checked that *countoff* is not enabled? That has bitten me a couple of times. ( The <8> key on the number pad.)
__________________
Mario C
Metcom Studios
www.metcomstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2006, 04:29 PM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

I have always had a delay, and also had it with AVXL. It is mostly related to the speed of the drives, because the delay is caused by audio and video data filling buffers before playback begins. The faster that happens, the sooner playback starts. There can be even less delays with low track counts because there is simply less to buffer.

2 seconds is excessive. What are you using for audio and video drives? I get about 3/4 second with an average session (40-50 tracks) on a single 10K audio drive and video on either a SATA or a Medea 4-drive SCSI array, no matter what video resolution. If I use an old 7.6K firewire drive for the same audio my wait is about 1.25 sec. If I use that and put video on an older 7.6K SCSI drive the wait time is about 2 seconds.
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2006, 05:36 PM
CD Productions CD Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: L.A.
Posts: 339
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

Seagate ST173404LC SCSI for video, Maxtor 300 GB Firewire 400Mb/sec speed for audio.
Thanks for the help.
__________________
Charles Dayton, CAS
Twisted Avocado Post Audio
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0206743/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2006, 06:51 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?



Sync problems could also increase a delay (but usually not 2 seconds though). Make sure both the Mojo and your Sync I/O are resolved to black.

If you take the video track offline do you still have the delay?

Is it happening on all sessions with video or just one?

If you, temporarily and for troubleshooting purposes, play the video off of your internal drive, do you still have the delay?

What is your DAE Playback buffer set to? If it's higher than Level 2, you will see a delay in starting and stopping playback.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:01 PM
CD Productions CD Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: L.A.
Posts: 339
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

Thanks Jon,
If I disable the video track, there is no delay. The whole system is locked to house black. Have not checked the buffer size, nor tried switching drives. Seems to be all sessions though.
__________________
Charles Dayton, CAS
Twisted Avocado Post Audio
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0206743/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-03-2006, 02:10 PM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: play delay when using mojo?

Charles, what is your wait time for a session with only a single video track, no audio? From a SATA drive or a single Seagate ST373307 (10K) SCSI I see approx .6 seconds, and from a single Quantum 7.6K SCSI I see approx .8 seconds. Jon menioned the Playback buffer should be at Level 2. H/W buffer sizes that are very large can affect it slightly also. I've never, ever seen better than these numbers on my systems (with MOJO). I'm thinking that possibly you are suffering from a combo of slightly behind-the-curve cpu speed, slow video access time(arrays are better), and firewire drives. As I meant to say in my first post, it is all cummulative.

If others are able to get instantaneous playback then I am very jelous of them, but I'll have to see it for myself before I believe them.
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mojo sync delay Felix Rost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-01-2011 01:40 PM
Avid Mojo Hardware: Won't play MXF? Maskeeper Post - Surround - Video 4 07-08-2009 06:14 AM
Can't play Quicktime through mojo jscroz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 05-12-2008 11:36 AM
Mojo SDI LCD Delay hef Post - Surround - Video 0 01-14-2008 03:49 PM
Mojo digitizing delay? emf1138 Post - Surround - Video 4 10-12-2006 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com