Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:15 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Delay before play and record

I've been using my home-made Intel P4 PC with Protools LE 6.9 cs3 and have had no problems. I recently needed to use a Dell Dimension 8400 Desktop with at P4 processor and 1 GB RAM with Protools Le 6.9 cs3.

This is what I've noticed. When I click on play with record enabled or not, there is a one to three second delay before it starts. This would normally not be an issue but over the course of the session it becomes a bother. Even the talent started to wonder why it was taking me so long to get the tracks rolling before a punch or take. Even when we played back the take to listen, the delay was obvious.

Has anyone seen this before? Is there a solution that I have not found for this? The setup is pretty basic (PC - Adaptec FW card - Digi002 - Powered Monitors). I's just using 4-6 tracks for this project and no plug-ins as I'm just tracking so it really is not pushing the limits or the computer. Is there something from Dell that needs to be disabled? I didn't do any tweaks with my other system either an it play instantly. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:03 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Delay before play and record

What's the open ended record allocation set to? If it is set for "all available space" it can take awhile to assign the temp files while recording. Try setting it to limit at a certain timeframe (say 10 minutes).
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2005, 04:51 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Thanks. I'll look into that. I just don't recall needing to do that with my other PC. If anyone else has seen this, let me know what you did.

Thanks
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2005, 05:06 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,893
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Have you tried recording to a different hard drive ?
OR..the obvious.."preroll and count off" I would check those first..
good luck,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2005, 05:45 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Quote:
....If anyone else has seen this, let me know what you did.

Thanks
Very common.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2005, 02:52 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Hmmm. I tried setting the open ended recording to 10 minutes (and 5 minutes) but it still takes about 2 - 3 seconds before it starts to playback and record. I've also tried different preroll settinging including zero preroll. I am running the protools application on the same drive as my OS, but I keep the audio files on a spearate drive. Any suggestions?
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2005, 03:52 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Is the '2 bars' button possibly highlighted in the transport window?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2005, 04:08 PM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Delay before play and record

I've had this problem since the days of 6.0. Something seems to build up in the registry and eventually it becomes noticable. The only way I've ever been able to fix this is by loading a new boot for Windows XP, reloading PTLE, and it's good to go again. I figured by v6.9, it was fixed, but haven't loaded 6.9 yet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:58 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,799
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Thanks for the replys so far. The "2-Bars" is not highlighted. Does more takes (punch in and outs) cause it to take longer to start playback and recording? On one session we have about 90 takes. However I noticed that the delays still exist even with a new session. Is there a way to clean up the tracks to only keep the most current takes (some systems call this "rendering") and delete the unnecessary audio regions? I just want to do some house keeping to try to improve this 2-3 second delay afer clicking play to get the audio going.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:20 AM
The Duncan The Duncan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: Delay before play and record

Disable any antivirus software.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Press Arm Record then Play and have to wait 3 miniutes before record/playback starts The Muphin Man Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 8 09-10-2010 07:03 PM
Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-06-2009 11:33 AM
Delay When Record/Play Button Pressed kaoticjackal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-25-2009 01:42 PM
5 second delay when i hit record and play! idledude Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 07-01-2008 06:37 AM
4 Second delay after I press record and play, help! silentknight206 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-04-2007 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com