Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2004, 08:28 AM
mrguitarguy mrguitarguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 40
Default AMD CPU Choices

As mentioned in my Harddrive Choices post I am building a PT system with an Mbox. Allen's under $600 system seems great due to it's price. And the Allenstein machine seems like it would keep up with most anything. I'm trying to have a system that will be used for PT and audio apps only (like those reason, etc). Any processor speed recommendations here? Any overclockers? I haven't tried overclocking and wondered how stable it was.

Thanks for all your help!
__________________
Sierra 10.12.6, Pro Tools 2019.5 HD Native, 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 3.46ghz 12 core, 128gb RAM, Radeon 5870, 860 eco and Angelbird SSD drives. All PT optimizations followed to the letter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:37 PM
mrguitarguy mrguitarguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

Anyone? Any opinions of Athlon 64's vs. XP's?
__________________
Sierra 10.12.6, Pro Tools 2019.5 HD Native, 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 3.46ghz 12 core, 128gb RAM, Radeon 5870, 860 eco and Angelbird SSD drives. All PT optimizations followed to the letter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:39 PM
jeroddumas jeroddumas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: macon georgia
Posts: 59
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

I'm overclocking. It only get me a coule more tracks on the dave c though. I am running a variant of the under $600 machine. And it is running just great. If you use the A7v600 you can use an AMD 3200+ cpu.
__________________
Asus A7v333 133*16.5 2.25GHZ
AMD 2400+
Matrox G450
512 MB Micron 2700 RAM
60 GB 7200 RPM
60 GB " "
32+7 dave C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:55 AM
funkyghoul funkyghoul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 233
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

If you can afford it...go for the 64bit solution. Its more powerful and more upgradable. I used to have a XP system and my 64 craps all over it.

Further...go for the socket 939 series if you can afford it, because, I'm led to believe that there won't be any more revisions of the socket 754 after the 3700+. The 939 is up to 4000+ already.

AMD are going to move the 754 chips over to the Semperon Platform for the next couple of years etc.
__________________
DIGI002
MSI K8N nForce3 25Ogb
Athlon 3200+ (1Mb L2)
1 Gig PC2700 Corsair Memory
120 gig Ext USB 2.0
32+14 DaveC PT 6.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:05 AM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

I agree, go AMD 64, and 939...
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:46 PM
idunno idunno is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

Hi, I'd second that notion for socket 939, and you may want to wait for the new nforce4 chipset that will come out in another month or two. It will support SATA II (300MB/s transfer rates), and PCI express. Overall, it will be a bit faster. The 939's are supposedly going to be easier to overclock, if that is a goal of yours.

That being said, overclocking and new technology don't necessarily make for the most stable environment. If you've got clients depending on you, it may be best to go with tried and true.

I got my MSI k8n neo platinum/AMD 3000+ (socket 754) a month ago. I've dabbled with overclocking and have overclocked by about 10%. It's pretty stable, though I may back down since I'm not having problems running plug-ins. I don't know if I'd reccommend this mobo though, because many users have been disappointed with its performance; little bugs have been listed on their forums, and it doesn't really OC that well. A nice feature though is Nforce3's native sata support, which allows you to boot from an SATA drive w/o a floppy. The next VIA chipset will also support this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-27-2004, 10:56 PM
DUCHUNTER DUCHUNTER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 231
Default Re: AMD CPU Choices

I've noticed a tremendous difference with my 64 vs my XP. Mine is also one of the 64's with the 1MB cache instead of 512k like all the new Athlon 64's have. It's so much faster than my XP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So many choices. Terry Wetzel General Discussion 8 12-16-2011 10:21 PM
Drum recording: 3 room choices, 3 channels, 4 mic choices - pls lend your advice!! edgarbc1 Tips & Tricks 4 12-03-2009 08:40 AM
Choices!, Choices!, Choices! dwdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-22-2002 11:09 AM
DAW choices - help! henryhill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-10-1999 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com