Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2004, 07:29 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,047
Default Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

On occasion when I try and import session data from another PT's session I'll get an error that there are missing audio files. As it turns out they aren't audio files, they're Fade files that were missing from the source session. So my session ends up with a complete timeline (green light) but an incomplete session (red light) with NO missing regions in the region bin. If I go to the original session I get an error that there are missing FADE FILES. At this point I can regenerate missing fades, save THEN import the session and all is well. The destination session would run fine with the missing fades, BUT if I try and import data from THAT session I get an assertion error with some inane description.

Tim

SEtup:

MDD 1.25Ghz
PT's 6.1
OS 10.2.6
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2004, 01:12 PM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

me too
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2004, 03:24 PM
parak parak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 104
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

and me too, just yesterday



G5 DP2ghz, 6.2.2, 10.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2004, 04:35 AM
InSights7 InSights7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Loveland, CO, USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

I have the same problem with some sessions.
__________________
Dan Matthews
InSight Sound Recording
Loveland, CO
(970) 663-1650
InSight Sound Web Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2004, 06:22 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

Anyone running PT's 6.4? Maybe it go resolved there. I'm doing that upgrade (OS 10.3 and PT's 6.4) on our HD systems next week. I'll let you know if it fixes it.

Tim
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2004, 08:14 AM
InSights7 InSights7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Loveland, CO, USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

ProToos 6.4, OS 10.3.2, HD3 Accel, 1.25 DP 800FW. The problem is still there on some sessions.
There should be a way to delete the offending fade requests.
__________________
Dan Matthews
InSight Sound Recording
Loveland, CO
(970) 663-1650
InSight Sound Web Page
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2004, 09:05 AM
Steve MacMillan Steve MacMillan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 2,038
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

I am experiencing this with 6.4

I've also had a couple of times where PT6.4 would not actually search for missing files until I restarted. I have several sessions I'm working on that are always asking for missing video (that was once in the session) even though I do not have a video track in the session. Deleting the video track is the only way to delete video from a session.

sm
__________________
macmandigital.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2004, 10:15 PM
sleadley sleadley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 957
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

You can indeed delete these errant files by openeing the task manager. you will see that the fades are unable to be created to so can delete them from there, I think.... It happened to us the other day and we finally figured it out. I will check with My partner tomorrow to see that was where you deleted them from.Once they are gone the session will open correctly
__________________
Plan for the worst, Hope for the Best.
www.trackdown.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-2004, 06:39 AM
Tim R. Tim R. is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

[QUOTE]
You can indeed delete these errant files by openeing the task manager. you will see that the fades are unable to be
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.4.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.14.1, 2018 Mac Mini 3Ghz i5, 32Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-07-2004, 10:39 AM
Kris Giesing Kris Giesing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3
Default Re: Missing Fade files become missing audio files?

Hi Tim,

Can you give me a bit more information about the Import Session Data step in this recipe?

I'm particularly interested in:

1) whether the source and destination sessions were at the same sample rate;
2) whether you chose to copy audio media during the import; and
3) whether there were pending fade creation tasks in the source session.

The best way to rid the session of offline fades is to open the Project Browser. All audio files used by the session (both regular audio files and fade files) are listed there. You can choose to clear/delete files from the session via the command popup.

You may see an unfamiliar category in the Project Browser - "Render Sources". These are files that are referenced by the session, not because they are used in the timeline, but because they provide the source data for an incomplete copy or sample rate conversion operation. I think what may be happening is that there is a collision between two methods of recreating the missing fades: the completion of a pending copy or conversion operation, and regeneration from the contributor audio files.

Thanks for helping us track this issue.

- Kris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing fade files, missing audio in resaved sesssions drygruo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-14-2010 04:56 PM
missing fade files Benneedshelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-07-2006 03:17 PM
Fade Files as Audio Files in "Missing Audio" ?? CCash Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-18-2005 09:00 AM
Missing Fade files PT THINKS are Audio rtcstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-18-2005 01:21 AM
missing fade files? fwafitz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-03-2002 12:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com