Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #711  
Old 02-18-2017, 05:06 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 483
Default AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

So at what point is a class-action law suit required??? This thread is ridiculously long.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #712  
Old 02-19-2017, 01:23 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

I'm sure someone from Avid reads this thread.
No more 'new' features that break other things! FIX THE MIDI and STOP THE -9173 ERRORS! Is that too much to ask for an 'industry standard' DAW? OK, forget 'industry standard'. Just give us a DAW that works as expected...
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #713  
Old 02-19-2017, 01:59 PM
T-Low T-Low is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 320
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I'm sure someone from Avid reads this thread.
No more 'new' features that break other things! FIX THE MIDI and STOP THE -9173 ERRORS! Is that too much to ask for an 'industry standard' DAW? OK, forget 'industry standard'. Just give us a DAW that works as expected...

+ 1
Reply With Quote
  #714  
Old 02-19-2017, 09:47 PM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 183
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

+1
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 8-core, 24 GB, OS X.12.6, HDX, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
  #715  
Old 02-20-2017, 04:11 AM
The Drummer The Drummer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 42
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Monday Morning - Fire up PT12.7 HDX - load relatively small session - no native plugs - 2 VIs

Press play - immediate -9173.
Go to System Usage.
Total CPU is fluctuating from between 25% and 100% every second. Continues for 5 mins untill I abandon ship.
I have uploaded 2 screenshots.
I have seen this many times in the past 9 months.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Total CPU 100%.jpg (33.3 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Total CPU 25%.jpg (34.7 KB, 0 views)
__________________
jonh
Reply With Quote
  #716  
Old 02-20-2017, 07:24 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

A lot of us are seeing this. There's just no absolute on pinning it down. It's not just one set of circumstances that bring this about.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #717  
Old 02-20-2017, 11:11 AM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Drummer View Post
Monday Morning - Fire up PT12.7 HDX - load relatively small session - no native plugs - 2 VIs

Press play - immediate -9173.
Go to System Usage.
Total CPU is fluctuating from between 25% and 100% every second. Continues for 5 mins untill I abandon ship.
I have uploaded 2 screenshots.
I have seen this many times in the past 9 months.


Curious what buffer setting are you using? Mac? What is your CPU in Ghz?

On my PC I get the same behavior if I run the lowest buffer settings at the given sample rate.

Depending on what is causing the spikes, changing the affinity of my CPU can help, but if the plugin is just CPU intensive it's game over.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
  #718  
Old 02-20-2017, 11:21 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Just got -9173s on the Pro Tools demo song using only stock plugins excluding Eleven LE!



Here's the session:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/46ve73qeej...%2001.ptx?dl=1

Here's the dlog:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sdmbqiuvhp...8_10.dlog?dl=1

Over to you Avid..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg demosong.jpg (81.7 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by Burbree; 02-21-2017 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #719  
Old 02-20-2017, 12:35 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
Just got -9173s on the Pro Tools demo song using only stock plugins excluding Eleven LE!



Here's the session:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/46ve73qeej...%2001.ptx?dl=1

Here's the dlog:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ndz6l7rf7a...9_25.dlog?dl=1

Over to you Avid..
I can't download the picture. Got the session downloaded.

Are you running HDX? I have HDX1. Some plug-ins loaded as DSP.

I can't reproduce the 9173 on my system, (or 9171 which is what I get most often HDX).

I also went through and converted all DSP to Native and still wasn't able to get 9173 or 9171 errors.

As a note, I ran at 64 buffers which is normally a surefire way to get a 9171 on my system.

Played session all the way through while listening to a blog using Firefox.

Here is a link to a video showing playback/settings for both version of files, (DSP-Native and Native) on my system.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lblmwo235vdqxi5/9173.mp4?dl=0

Here is the native session running on my late 2013 MBPr. Less cores, lower CPU speed and the CPU usage is significantly less than my XEON 6 core CPU using HDX1.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/z9ykpgeg6k...0MBPr.mp4?dl=0
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]

Last edited by jjnssn; 02-20-2017 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #720  
Old 02-20-2017, 12:44 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Interesting. On an HDX1 system, I have not been able to create a session that doesn't get these errors.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 01:41 AM
Error AAE 9173! Urghhh!!! Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 9 06-12-2015 12:28 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 09:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com