Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #691  
Old 02-05-2017, 09:21 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldStudios View Post
Amen to that. This makes me so angry. Every day every 5 minutes at least. More on some sessions hardly at all in some. It gets even worse if you have certain plugin windows open and forget about making selections in the midi editor as the music is playing. I have a feeling it is linked to the graphics.
Keep a drive with 12.4 on hand for those critical sessions.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #692  
Old 02-06-2017, 11:01 AM
mrtomcat mrtomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Studio City
Posts: 225
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEUSS View Post
What a sad excuse for a company that takes $$$ for years from its customers and still does not fix the problem! Especially from HD users that have spent THOUSANDS!!!
Amen to that

from the read of that they don't even work on this... blame it on every major plugin company that do NOT have this problem on a different platform and then move on.

Damn you Avid, not cool.

My subscription is about due for renewal and I am not sure what to do..this entire year should be refunded for giving us a very unpredictable and unstable platform.

What to do?
Selling my HDX and go back to Nuendo...?
See if Nuendo runs well on HDX hardware (does it? I have no clue)
or go back to 12.4, don't renew my subscription and then get fined once they finally if ever fix their buggy product.

I truly wish I would have stayed on Nuendo back then. This is so frustrating
__________________
Mixing/Producing/Recording
PT Ultimate 2019.5
Wavelab Pro 9.5
UAD Satellite Octo Thunderbolt,
Apollo Twin Duo,
HDX Card running in Sonnet TB3 expansion box,
2x Avid I/O Analog 16/16,
4x Artist Mix, Avid Dock, PT Control,
Mac Mini 2018 32gig ram 1 TB SSD 6 Core running Mojave,
lots of outboard gear
Reply With Quote
  #693  
Old 02-07-2017, 04:41 PM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

What the hell? I am having the same issue after upgrading to 32G RAM. My machine is plugging away at less than 7% before suddenly crashing. I had almost moved to a new machine before finding this thread. Also interesting that both MAC and PC users are having the same issue.

I am not comfortable working in Pro Tools 12 until this is fixed. It is really embarrassing to have your session crash in front of a client.

Does anyone know of a way to revert back to a 12.4 install without the 12.4 download??

I just bought 12 so I have some type of 12.5 or newer.
Reply With Quote
  #694  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:51 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

^^^ You will need to speak with Customer Service about this. ^^^
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #695  
Old 02-08-2017, 07:57 AM
colorsound colorsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DeSoto Kansas
Posts: 8
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

FYI - I have had this problem immediately after loading Pro Tools 12 and before loading any 3rd party plugins.

The only plugs I used when I initiated 12 were the AVID plugs that came with it.

This is absolutely a problem with the software and plugs from AVID.

ALSO - I am really pissed because I have paid a tech several times now to try and fix this. He has worked directly for Digidesign and for Apple. He is the highest rated pro tech for installing and servicing Pro Tools studios in at least the 5 state area.

I have thrown about $1,500 dollars at this problem now and am really upset that this is happening to everyone.

What do I do now? Does anyone have a 12.4 disc I can use to go back a version?
Reply With Quote
  #696  
Old 02-09-2017, 03:49 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

This is almost certainly a plug-in issue. My copy of 12.7 will never -9173 in a busy sessions with hundreds of stock Avid plugins (except Eleven LE). However throw Eleven LE or Eleven into the mix and it will..

Until theres a fix I'm having to freeze tracks that use taxing plugins to eliminate this error..

Here's some culprits from others posts and ones that I've noticed:

Eleven / LE
Waves Abbey Road Plates
Magic AB
Brainworx plugins possibly BX_XL V2
BlueCat Patchwork especially with CPU intensive AU
Native Instrument plug-ins
UAD plug-ins
Reply With Quote
  #697  
Old 02-09-2017, 05:50 AM
Shatzer Shatzer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 568
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
This is almost certainly a plug-in issue. My copy of 12.7 will never -9173 in a busy sessions with hundreds of stock Avid plugins (except Eleven LE). However throw Eleven LE or Eleven into the mix and it will..

Until theres a fix I'm having to freeze tracks that use taxing plugins to eliminate this error..

Here's some culprits from others posts and ones that I've noticed:

Eleven / LE
Waves Abbey Road Plates
Magic AB
Brainworx plugins possibly BX_XL V2
BlueCat Patchwork especially with CPU intensive AU
Native Instrument plug-ins
UAD plug-ins
I believe plugins can be problematic, but i think the majority of our problems talked about in this thread has nothing to do with plugins. As I've stated several times, I can remove every plugin there is and still get the 9173 error.
Reply With Quote
  #698  
Old 02-09-2017, 07:32 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,919
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
I believe plugins can be problematic, but i think the majority of our problems talked about in this thread has nothing to do with plugins. As I've stated several times, I can remove every plugin there is and still get the 9173 error.
Same here. If it were just plug-ins, I think Avid would know it by now.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #699  
Old 02-09-2017, 12:19 PM
T-Low T-Low is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 320
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatzer View Post
I believe plugins can be problematic, but i think the majority of our problems talked about in this thread has nothing to do with plugins. As I've stated several times, I can remove every plugin there is and still get the 9173 error.

Agreed !
there is something rotten at the core of PT 12.x
Reply With Quote
  #700  
Old 02-10-2017, 05:19 AM
risey's Avatar
risey risey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 160
Default Re: AAE error -9173 stronger than ever on PT 12.5

Yes its not plugins and as I mentioned before, having 16cores 5 of them remain between 0% - 3% usage and yet pro tools sometimes reports CPU usage as a whole is 79%. Disabling core 0 on the CPU for Pro Tools does help, but the problem I believe is that there could be a sudden spike in accessing the CPU on a certain core which causes these errors and crashes.

There is most certainly a multi thread issue and if anyone at AVID reads this which I doubt as they have their selected elitist they listen to, your first step is to ensure that workloads are spread evenly amongst the cpu cores and not create a triangle pattern, work from there and I am sure some of these errors will eventually iron out.
__________________
http://www.PhatMonkey.me
Windows 10 64bit | Asus Rog Hero Xi | Intel i9-9900K | Corsair LPX Vengeance 64g DDR4 RAM | Avid Mbox Pro 3 | Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen | MSI RTX 2080TI Gaming X Trio | Acer Z35 Predator Monitor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 error in PT 12 ArKay99 Pro Tools 12 10 06-11-2016 01:41 AM
Error AAE 9173! Urghhh!!! Voice Crafters Pro Tools 11 9 06-12-2015 12:28 PM
Error -9173 music.m Pro Tools 11 1 03-19-2015 09:42 AM
PT 11 Clearly Not An AAE 9173 Error rgconrad1 Pro Tools 11 3 09-29-2014 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com