Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 11:32 AM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

Hi--
I recently updated from OX 10.8.5 & PT 12.4 to OS X 10.10.5 & PT 12.6.1. My hardware interface is a Digi 003. My old system was ROCK solid, but several issues (not audio related) required I update my OS.

Now I've got two things that occur with alarming frequency:
In the middle of a session, the stop button lights solid blue and the play button flashes green, and I'm unable to continue recording or playback until I quit PT, turn off the Digi 003 and restart both. I've seen others in the forum report the same, but no real solution.

The 2nd issue is more of an annoyance: upon launch I always get the query: "Do you want the application “Pro Tools.app” to accept incoming network connections?" even though I've gone to my Mac System Preferences and allowed the connection for PT in my Privacy settings.

I can download the update for PT 12.7 -- will that solve any of this? Or do I need another OSX upgrade as well? Or is there a simpler fix?

My Mac Hardware is:
Mac Pro Tower (Mid 2012)
3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
32 GB of Memory
Graphics card: ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB
SAMSUNG 1TB SSD Start-up drive
WD 4TB SATA Drive for PT sessions

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2018, 02:23 AM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 454
Default Re: Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

Blue stop light - online waiting or timecode/midi?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.12.6 - 64 gb Ram - Protools 12.8 HDX - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card - DCommand ES24 - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 8.9.1 on 4 Core Mac Pro Dustbin with AJA Kona 3g) Soundminer 4.5 Pro
Protools 12.8.0 Vanilla in 2 x Edit suites one with S3 and one with Mackie Control.
Mediacomposer 8.9.1 on AJA Kona 3g x 3 suites
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2018, 02:00 PM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

I'm not using timecode/midi--but I have to admit I don't know what you mean by "online waiting" either :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2018, 09:34 AM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

Just checking in: Any new info out there on this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2018, 05:58 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 192
Default Re: Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

Hello,
The indicators you describe present when PT is put in chase mode and is waiting for timecode. Command-J does this, could you be pressing that by mistake?
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2018, 08:36 AM
quangaroo quangaroo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Default Re: Upgrade woes: Stop Button Lights Blue - Can't record/playback

Yes, I definitely checked that--it's something else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Playback - Stop button flashes Blue BurbankGuy Windows 6 05-31-2018 12:32 AM
can't play or record, stop button lights up robotboy Pro Tools 10 4 08-04-2014 08:34 PM
I push PLAY and Stop Button lights up Blue ??? Seafoam_Green Getting Started 3 07-06-2013 09:18 AM
Press PLAY and STOP button lights! ronlosangeles Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-29-2011 10:19 AM
Hitting Play or Record, blue stop button lights up... delay Monty_python 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-06-2009 11:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com