Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Old 06-28-2017, 05:29 AM

Default Hello and some live PA setup questions

Hi all

I'm a live sound engineer from South Africa. I do a lot of theatre/musical work as well as a lot of corporate work. Lately, I have been doing quite a bit with a local band and a few international tours and would like to learn more about PA system setups and getting the most out of a DSP.

My first question relates to a DSP being used in conjunction with an installed PA. In the venue in question, they have got a Beta 3 C2402 DSP. The PA is an HK Audio PA, 2 x IL 15.2 over 1 x IL 218 sub per side and a Beta 3 15" box as a C cluster.

The IL 15.2's consist of a 15" inch driver and a horn. The PA is hung such that the boxes are hung one below the other, on each side of the stage. The top box firing towards the back of the room, the bottom box a little steeper. Now, my question is this, sending from the main console, L and R goes into the DSP, of which it then has 6 outputs : Low L and R, Mid L and R, High L and R. I feel like it's a stupid question, but surely I would only use the Low output for subs and then the High L and R to go to all 4 boxes? I can't figure out how to incorporate the Mid L and R output, as it is essentially a L C R system, the tops not being a Mid/High combination firing at the same area. I hope this makes sense? Please if someone could clarify that for me I would be so grateful.