Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2019, 11:17 AM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 133
Default Avid S1 Depth Requirements for Desk

I currently have a Dock and Mix on my desk. The surface of my desk is about 15 inches from front edge to drawer/riser on top of back of desk. I can fit the artist mix easily and my dock takes up the whole 15 inches with the ipad touching the riser/drawer.

The S1 dimensions listed are 14.9 inches deep so about the same (.8 inches deeper) as dock but with the lower slant of the tablet and looking at the AES videos, it looks like it needs more depth/space than the dock.

If its the same as the dock I am ok.

Can Avid confirm how much physical depth the S1 requires with a tablet in it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2019, 10:28 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,288
Default Re: Avid S1 Depth Requirements for Desk

Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg S1_Overall Dimensions1.jpg (27.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2019, 12:52 PM
sjgam sjgam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 133
Default Re: Avid S1 Depth Requirements for Desk

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Hope this helps.
Thanks Eddie - very useful - so 14.85 inches to back base. That would fit without tablet.

Just a matter of how far tablet extends back.

Would you say the top of tablet roughly extends as far as back base (so 14.85 inches) on your diagram.

If so it would fit.

Or if tablet extends a bit farther, then the front of my riser would just tilt it forward a bit. Which I think is ok.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2019, 07:53 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,288
Default Re: Avid S1 Depth Requirements for Desk

Yes the tablet would extend out further but that depends on the size you get.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The AVID S3 VS. the AVID Artist Mix: An In-Depth Comparison Anthony_Anz Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 3 02-26-2018 12:48 PM
HD requirements? Avid won't help me Famudeedo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 11 01-20-2013 08:06 AM
Bit Depth, Avid to Pro Tools Workflow youthofbeast Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-31-2011 07:03 AM
Icon - In Depth Videos (Avid Web Site problem) Phil Buckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-28-2011 06:08 PM
Avid KB article about PT9 HD requirements barstool719 Pro Tools 9 0 11-05-2010 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com