Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2007, 10:20 AM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default 16k sampling rate?

I'm still using LE 6.4 (happily) but I have a client who needs something at 16K, which is not an option for me. Can I record in this in newer versions? Or does anyone ave a suggestion for conversion?

Thanks
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2007, 10:29 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,656
Default Re: 16k sampling rate?

He probably meant to say 16 BITS.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2007, 11:12 AM
bee.r bee.r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 33
Default Re: 16k sampling rate?

I do a lot of IVR work for telecoms systems which is nearly always at low sample rates. I record at normal sample rates to make sure the quality is up to scratch, and then when bouncing out (or exporting to files) I do that at the lower sample rates. I discovered you can just type in the sample rate you need in the sample rate box in the bounce window - there's no need to stick to the values in the drop down box.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2007, 01:41 PM
guy.fi guy.fi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: milwaukee
Posts: 395
Default Re: 16k sampling rate?

Bee.r, you'd be popular here in Milwaukee!

Yes, this is a telecom situation, and going by Nyquist 16k would recreate up to 8 kHz, which is well above the center frequencies of human speech.

That's very interesting about just typing in the sample rate, I'll give it a try. Anyone else have any experience with this?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe
Pentium Q9550 @ 3.4 ghz
Corsair 1066 RAM


www.guyfi.com
www.flystudiosmilwaukee.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:03 AM
bee.r bee.r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 33
Default Re: 16k sampling rate?

Sorry, too busy being popular in Manchester!

We do sometimes go down to an 8K sample rate for telecoms work, and we have on occasion had to do 8K 8 bit which sounds crap even over the phone! The only problem we've had is sometimes when using a mac (which we do at work - I have PT on a PC at home) and converting to A-law or u-law (which PT won't do so we use additional software to do the conversions) the headers are left on and whatever hardware the telecoms company are using can't read the files, so we have to do the file conversions on PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody know what the max sampling rate of PT 8.0 LE is? Fabb2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-09-2012 11:58 PM
Sampling Rate Problem Please Help D.O.T General Discussion 0 07-13-2008 07:33 AM
Sampling rate problem IPerez27 Post - Surround - Video 4 08-24-2004 09:38 PM
mbox sampling rate madincraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-06-2003 12:16 AM
Mbox sampling rate madincraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-03-2003 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com