Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2014, 11:45 PM
makinghits makinghits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Default 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted [SOLVED]

Trying a simple update and this is what happens: https://copy.com/ie2otkgzepTqYQnN

11.2 doesn't install (even when I point to the correct file) and now my previous version is ruined (can't start it anymore).

What can I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2014, 12:25 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,494
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

Quote:
Originally Posted by makinghits View Post
Trying a simple update and this is what happens: https://copy.com/ie2otkgzepTqYQnN

11.2 doesn't install (even when I point to the correct file) and now my previous version is ruined (can't start it anymore).

What can I do?
Hi,

Difficult to help with so little information about your system!

What is your E drive? Looks like your trying to install from an external drive or USB stick.

Download the installer again incase it's corrupted and install from the desktop.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2014, 12:31 AM
makinghits makinghits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

Thank you for your help. I think the problem is I inadvertently deleted the previous version's uninstaller, so now PT is unable to uninstall the old version. I have no way of getting back the old uninstaller. Is there some kind of registry hack or a workaround?

Thanks again.

PS: re-installing the previous version doesn't work either, it says "a newer version is already installed"....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2014, 01:10 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,567
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

Restore back to your last working system drive image backup...

If you decided not to do backups you may end up needing to do a clean reinstall of Windows. Which may be faster then trying to try random things/work out what is going on.

And for any install that is not an incremental update (e.g. where there is a full installer available) then always do an unisntall of the currently installed Pro Tools before running the new installer.

And you had not/were not trying to install Pro Tools to the E: drive were you? Pro Tools always needs to be on the running boot/system drive (normally C:).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2014, 06:07 AM
ViTheVault ViTheVault is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

I'm having the same problem here...
Since I'm not working on the workstation now and waiting for a project to come in.
I up graded to PT 10.3.9, All is working well; So I thought I install PT11.
And now I'm installing PT11.2 for the first time.
I got the same error message and the installer told me to uninstall the older version. But that means uninstalling PT10... Right?
Both should work together (on the same workstation this is...)
So what should I do now?

Win7, 64
Digi003 factory
CPTK ....
The ilok bundles 10/11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2014, 08:54 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

It means uninstall the previous version of 11.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2014, 08:58 AM
ViTheVault ViTheVault is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

I never installed PT11 before...
That's my main issue... do I need to uninstall PT10??? and reinstall it after I install PT11?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2014, 09:09 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,351
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

Make sure you are using a version of PT 10 that's compatible with 11.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-03-2014, 09:15 AM
Dot Dot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 286
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

I had missing file PTsess_407.dll (or something like that) I ignored it and it installed, it seems i dont have any issues with it for now
__________________
www.dominicdotokune.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-03-2014, 09:23 AM
makinghits makinghits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 125
Default Re: 11.2 install fails, previous version now corrupted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Restore back to your last working system drive image backup...

If you decided not to do backups you may end up needing to do a clean reinstall of Windows. Which may be faster then trying to try random things/work out what is going on.

And for any install that is not an incremental update (e.g. where there is a full installer available) then always do an unisntall of the currently installed Pro Tools before running the new installer.

And you had not/were not trying to install Pro Tools to the E: drive were you? Pro Tools always needs to be on the running boot/system drive (normally C:).
Restore is not an option. Reinstalling Windows is ridiculous. Uninstall is not possible as mentioned. Installing from E: to C: of course.

Does anybody have an idea how to work around this problem and tricking the installer into thinking this is a brand new install?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I Install PT 9.0.5 Without Previous PT9 Version? taylor4814 Windows 2 09-28-2011 01:44 PM
PT 8.03 feels much better than the previous version garnoil Post - Surround - Video 8 01-02-2010 05:54 PM
Does PT8 downloadable upgrade require a previous version to install? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-30-2008 04:45 PM
Possible to revert to a previous version of PT? TFL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-27-2007 10:27 AM
New WAV files corrupted? - SOLVED Bill0287 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 03-12-2006 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com