Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2014, 07:16 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default False Avid Advertising

Perhaps the marketing team should try to get their customer communication right.
I got this email today

The marketing Dept:
Why Should You Upgrade to Pro Tools | HD 11?
Save up to 40% and get more advantages if you act now

Upgrade at a lower price than before—save up to 40% off previous upgrade pricing

What's really going on:
There is no Avid discount on HD 11 upgrades they are the exact same price as they were since HD 11 came out. At AES were we told that HD 8 owners could upgrade for same price as HD 9 owners then that was walked back quickly...
What's going on in all that fog in Daly City?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2014, 07:59 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,761
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
Perhaps the marketing team should try to get their customer communication right.
I got this email today

The marketing Dept:
Why Should You Upgrade to Pro Tools | HD 11?
Save up to 40% and get more advantages if you act now

Upgrade at a lower price than before—save up to 40% off previous upgrade pricing

What's really going on:
There is no Avid discount on HD 11 upgrades they are the exact same price as they were since HD 11 came out. At AES were we told that HD 8 owners could upgrade for same price as HD 9 owners then that was walked back quickly...
What's going on in all that fog in Daly City?
It's not false advertising... it says "up to" since the upgrade from PTHD9 or PT9+CPTK was $999 and is now $599 (40% less).

Regards,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2014, 09:45 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
It's not false advertising... it says "up to" since the upgrade from PTHD9 or PT9+CPTK was $999 and is now $599 (40% less).

Regards,
JC
JC, that's not what he saying, what he saying is at AES he was told that as a ProTools HD8 owne, he can upgrade to ProTools 11 HD for 599. Whereas now, you have to have at least ProTools HD9 to get the 599 upgrade price. I have to admit I was very confused with that, as I also was ready to shell out 599 to upgrade my ProTools HD eight license. This was a secondary lisense that I also own.

My only reason for wanting to upgrade that version of ProTools, was at least I know I would always have my version of ProTools HD 10, regardless whatever was done by Avid as we go forward.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2014, 10:52 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,056
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

That is probably (?) because all PT8 HD systems would be TDM systems that cannot run PT11 at all, therefore not eligible for upgrade. In case I remember this correctly, first PT11 capable HD systems were the HDN PCI-e cards, which came with PT9
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2014, 12:56 AM
Alio 45's Avatar
Alio 45 Alio 45 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 243
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
It's not false advertising... it says "up to" since the upgrade from PTHD9 or PT9+CPTK was $999 and is now $599 (40% less).

Regards,
JC

It is false advertising, I got an email telling me to upgrade to PT11 and save up to 60%.

I already own PT11 so how is this an upgrade? How is paying $199 to go from PT11 to PT11 a saving of up to 60%?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2014, 01:04 AM
Alio 45's Avatar
Alio 45 Alio 45 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 243
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

How about some incentives at least. Some people are comparing this to the Waves WUP. I've had issues with the waves model in the past but at least they give incentives.

Last week i renewed part of my WUP at a cost of $81 and they sent me a $50 e voucher. I put this towards a bundle that was discounted from $500 to $100, I got the bundle for $50.

Waves made another sale and I was happy - winners all round.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2014, 01:57 AM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 623
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alio 45 View Post
How about some incentives at least. Some people are comparing this to the Waves WUP. I've had issues with the waves model in the past but at least they give incentives.

Last week i renewed part of my WUP at a cost of $81 and they sent me a $50 e voucher. I put this towards a bundle that was discounted from $500 to $100, I got the bundle for $50.

Waves made another sale and I was happy - winners all round.
Waves have gotten really smart with well placed sales and pricing on products that have given me incentive to buy after resisting purchasing Waves for so many years. That and their products got a hell of a lot better too. I will never feel the need for their Mercury bundle (or whatever name they come up with for the next grandiose version) but at least I can enjoy their modeled plugs at a reasonable price. Not to mention they have been on version 9 for a few years almost.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2014, 03:16 AM
KV626's Avatar
KV626 KV626 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Paris/Montreal
Posts: 450
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alio 45 View Post
It is false advertising, I got an email telling me to upgrade to PT11 and save up to 60%.

I already own PT11 so how is this an upgrade? How is paying $199 to go from PT11 to PT11 a saving of up to 60%?
Come on... EVERYONE gets the email... No big deal! PT 11 owners will pay less to get on the program, the details have just not been released yet. Licensing page is very clear.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid-2012) 12-core 2 x 3.3 GHz / MSI RX 560 / 40GB ram / macOS 10.14.5 / Pro Tools 2019.5 / Logic Pro X 10.4.4
Arturia Keylab 88 Presonus Faderport 8 MOTU 896 iPad Air 2 w/ PT Control
NI Komplete Ultimate 11 • Albion One • Soundiron Choirs • Pianoteq • Analog Lab • VSL SE/Chamber Strings • etc
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-21-2014, 05:56 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That is probably (?) because all PT8 HD systems would be TDM systems that cannot run PT11 at all, therefore not eligible for upgrade. In case I remember this correctly, first PT11 capable HD systems were the HDN PCI-e cards, which came with PT9
I could be wrong, but I believe there was an 8.5 update that was needed to go to HDN when it first came out...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-21-2014, 06:13 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,056
Default Re: False Avid Advertising

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
I could be wrong, but I believe there was an 8.5 update that was needed to go to HDN when it first came out...
It can very well be my bad memory, too. Either way, some one of us is wrong

Seriously.

I took a quick look at PT WIKI and it says that:

Quote:
On October 6, 2010, Avid released Pro Tools HD Native
...and...

Quote:
On November 4, 2010, Avid released Pro Tools 9
So if that is correct, then IMO it should be possible to upgrade PT8HD to PT10/PT11
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack / Avid is not producing anymore Eleven Racks is that true or false? Rongpat Eleven Rack 8 02-11-2014 07:42 AM
PT10 in advertising reichman macOS 0 11-22-2011 09:23 PM
Studio Advertising Ideas!! HELP!!!!!!! Audio85 General Discussion 1 07-03-2011 12:31 PM
Suggestions for Advertising Studio kickit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-16-2004 11:21 AM
False advertising from Digidesign? Mr. E. Trane Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 04-28-2002 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com