Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-16-2020, 07:57 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 557
Default Re: UAD Luna

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
First tell me if I missed something or is this DAW only for their own customers that have TB interface? Can it be run standalone on a Macbook with built-in output for example?
You do have to be invested in the UAD ecosystem..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-16-2020, 08:13 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,768
Default Re: UAD Luna

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
You do have to be invested in the UAD ecosystem..
Thanks. I was almost thinking I am missing something obvious here
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:14 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

It's not zero latency,

The record armed tracks for apollo inputs are subject to the exact same latency as console. that means 80% of effects will add 1.5ms latency EACH at 44K.

Vi's are at 128 buffer, but no word yet if that is just for Luna VI's.

This is not "zero latency".

That means RTL through Luna will still be higher than HDX at all sample rates, without any plugins present at all.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:15 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: UAD Luna

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
First tell me if I missed something or is this DAW only for their own customers that have TB interface? Can it be run standalone on a Macbook with built-in output for example?
I know it's been answered but I apologise for omitting that fact. My bad.

Any thunderbolt apollo will do, even the firewire one with thunderbolt add in card is 100% compatible. All Apollos ever released as long as there is a way to connect to them via thunderbolt.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:21 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,768
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
It's not zero latency
Of course it isn't. No digital system is ever zero latency. Comes by definition that you need at least one sample latency going in, one sample latency for processing, and one sample latency going out. No digital system can guess what comes next, and no digital system can pass data between samples.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-16-2020, 09:53 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Of course it isn't. No digital system is ever zero latency. Comes by definition that you need at least one sample latency going in, one sample latency for processing, and one sample latency going out. No digital system can guess what comes next, and no digital system can pass data between samples.
The problem is, Fab Dupont *persistently* and continually refers to it as zero or NO latency, in videos as far back as 5 years ago. He says use whatever UAD plugin you want with NO latency.

This is what fooled me into thinking I could add ANY uad plugin to monitor chain in Apollo and not incur additional latency (i of course knew the figure for the base RTL without plugins).
This couldn't be further from the truth, and applies equally to Luna as well. I have been asking UA to amend the info on that for years. I was in for a rude surprise believe me when I started stacking the newer plugins!

A unison pre, plus EQ and twin comp will get you close to 10MS. much higher/slower than a fast native system using stuff like slate VMR.
The only way to avoid this is to use the 15 year old MK1 plugins, or thrid party ones like brainworx who tend to have zero additional delay DSP plugins.

The only real benefit is lack of cpu use which is why I stick to it. I have plenty of native plugins now I like as much or even prefer to UA versions..Slate Distressor being an example, IK Dyna Mu another (it's just insanely good).

After realising just how weak my imac pro is to try and do a total ITB recording, I use UAD fx for the mixing process but I can't use the ones I love to put on my monitor chain as the latency is just too high.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-13-2020, 09:06 AM
adam_w1 adam_w1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 203
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Well, I for one am excited about it for tracking projects at least. Can't see myself leaving PT for mixing, but I like console, and the low latency, so let's see how it is. Oh, plus...you can't argue with FREE!
__________________
life is too short for bad mixes.
online mixing
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-13-2020, 10:22 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,361
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam_w1 View Post
Well, I for one am excited about it for tracking projects at least. Can't see myself leaving PT for mixing, but I like console, and the low latency, so let's see how it is. Oh, plus...you can't argue with FREE!
+1
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-14-2020, 12:44 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Nothing wrong with looking forward to it. I myself will check it out in around 3 years is my guess, when the features catch up.

Right now it doesn't even have freeze/bounce in place, only the old school way of opening up an export window.

There's no audio quantise. NO sidechaining of any kind, not with UA, not with native plugins, and so on.

But the very basics of it look good and easy to use.. so with time, who knows :)
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-11-2020, 04:47 PM
RobertDorn RobertDorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 166
Default Re: UAD LUNA is a daw

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
Well, I understand for people wanting an extremely simple integrated solution, but every video seen so far has made it look a decade behind other DAW's in terms of editing features. It's SO basic.. and when you can say even PT midi looks light yeas ahead, well, that's REALLY saying something! LOL!

(notation, event list, more complex quantizing options including audio to midi groove and vice versa, all the realtime non destructive options for midi, good length and velocity manipulation via lower graph OR the function window OR the realtime tabs OR the event list, external instruments with sample level delay per midi port, and more.. we don't even know if luna can work with external synths yet!).

I put my list in the GS thread and nothing has been answered, nor has the question if Luna is susceptible to the same plugin latency as Console is. i.e the majority of UA plugins add latency to every console insert, including *every* unison plugin. RTL times can go well beyond native systems.

PS Audio editing also looks uber basic to say the least.
It has clip based pitch correction (cents or semi-tones) and does clip gain for multiple selected clips at once. Where do I do that in pro tools .

Nevertheless I won't have an opinion about it before I record and mix with it - hands on -

Regarding your other concern, I don't know which version of Console you use but I track through console with plugins loaded all over for years without any noticeable latency. I don't care what the actual latency number is because I'm not a scientist but a musician.
__________________
Apple iMac Pro 10-core 3GHz | 128GB ram | Mac OS 10.13.6 | Universal Audio Apollo X16 & X8P | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Under the Same Moon (La Misma Luna) JKD99 Post - Surround - Video 11 05-06-2008 06:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com