Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2018, 10:49 AM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 262
Default Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

On paper it looks like no one can touch it from a driver perspective (and price). But I can't seem to find anyone who has tried it with Protools yet.
All I am looking for is a stable Thunderbolt interface that does not need a secondary mixer to make it even usable to track live recordings without massive latencies. That runs ProtoolsHD12 software smoothly.
I have tried all the major players, Apogee, UA, Antelope, MOTU and they are utterly useless when not tracking through their own Software Mixers.
Software Mixers is just a solution for writing bad drivers in my opinion.
The only one that seems to be able to do it is the RME UFX+. I have always loved RME for their solid drivers but at the moment they don't have an entry level Thunderbolt interface (sub$1000).
Anyone!?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2018, 12:24 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,313
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Try the UAD forums

Matt H has used it with PT. They talk about the paces they put it through
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2018, 05:50 PM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 262
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Try the UAD forums

Matt H has used it with PT. They talk about the paces they put it through
Thanks for linking that
Anyhoo I searched UAD's forums and found the thread for any one interested:

https://uadforum.com/general-discuss...y-quantum.html

But more importantly also found this link!!

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/vid...udio-interface

Sounds like a no brainer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2018, 06:40 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,313
Default Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by digiot View Post
Thanks for linking that
No problem 🤠🤠🤠
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2018, 06:07 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Reviving an old thread...

I just picked up a Quantum 2 interface and I have to say that I'm impressed with the performance of this unit. The driver is very stable, efficient and works very well on my Win 10, PT 2018 system. I can run higher track counts and a lower buffer setting than I can with my Clarett.

I don't have exact latency numbers, but have no issues tracking through plug-ins.

Definitely worth a look if you are in the market for a TB interface at a good price.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2018, 01:50 PM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 262
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by junkgear View Post
Reviving an old thread...

I just picked up a Quantum 2 interface and I have to say that I'm impressed with the performance of this unit. The driver is very stable, efficient and works very well on my Win 10, PT 2018 system. I can run higher track counts and a lower buffer setting than I can with my Clarett.

I don't have exact latency numbers, but have no issues tracking through plug-ins.

Definitely worth a look if you are in the market for a TB interface at a good price.
Thats good to hear. I will probably pick one up for my portable rig and ditch my Apollo Twin. I have been using a UFX+ with another studio setup and it has been working very solid too. Didn't want to spend that much money on another one for my mobile rig though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2018, 02:29 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,076
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

I just picked up a Quantum 2, and I have to say I am impressed. I haven't tried it in Mac yet, but my Windows 10 Bootcamp installation works great. I get better stability at 64 sample buffer than I did at 256 samples with any of my other interfaces. Latency is not noticeable by me, and I have no problem tracking though Amplitube 4 or any other plugin I might need.

Interestingly, I can get the buffer all the way down to 16 samples in the Studio One 3 Artist software that came with the interface. And it seems to be stable at that setting as well. Pro Tools doesn't even see 16 samples as an option, and 32 samples is too taxing on my aging system. But none of that matters since I get acceptable (unnoticeable) latency performance at 64 samples at 44.1 KHz. And I like Pro Tools too much to bother learning another DAW right now.

Update: I tried it on Mac High Sierra, and it's rock solid stable at 32 sample buffer. I played with it for only about half an hour, but it ran perfectly with a few different sessions.
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.13 High Sierra / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2018.4 (vanilla)
- Various USB2 and Firewire hard drives

Last edited by QuikDraw; 03-18-2018 at 11:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2018, 04:51 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: Anyone try the Presonus Quantum yet!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikDraw View Post
I just picked up a Quantum 2, and I have to say I am impressed. I haven't tried it in Mac yet, but my Windows 10 Bootcamp installation works great. I get better stability at 64 sample buffer than I did at 256 samples with any of my other interfaces. Latency is not noticeable by me, and I have no problem tracking though Amplitube 4 or any other plugin I might need.

Interestingly, I can get the buffer all the way down to 16 samples in the Studio One 3 Artist software that came with the interface. And it seems to be stable at that setting as well. Pro Tools doesn't even see 16 samples as an option, and 32 samples is too taxing on my aging system. But none of that matters since I get acceptable (unnoticeable) latency performance at 64 samples at 44.1 KHz. And I like Pro Tools too much to bother leaning another DAW right now.
Nice! Presonus seems to have done a great job with the Quantum driver; at least on Windows.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quantum Atlas V Philee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-20-2001 07:08 PM
should I sell my Quantum? raywong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-23-2001 10:13 PM
Quantum/Atlas III MacDaddy WGAR Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-02-2000 09:57 AM
help....Quantum Atlas 10K 9.1GB?? kit2752 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-02-1999 12:42 AM
Quantum Atlas IV 9G Waterknot General Discussion 0 09-22-1999 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com